Posted by: Diane | June 27, 2014

In Awe

School’s out!

Love this comic in our local newspaper this morning.

school's out!

I know our grandson is thrilled to be starting his summer of play! Phoenie will be coming to stay with us soon and I’m really happy about that!

Speaking of children, I have to tell you about an experience that I had in the plane on the way home from Atlanta.

There was a family of four, sitting in front of me and it was very obvious that the two young children had never flown before. They could not contain their excitement and their endless questions — and the plane hadn’t even taken off yet!

“Will my shoes stay on when we take off?”

“What are clouds made of?”

“When will we be there?”

“Do we get to eat candy on this plane?”

. . and my personal favourite — “I can’t believe we’re actually going to go up in the sky.  I’m so excited, my hair is sticky and my eyes are sore!”

The plane was delayed for about fifteen minutes because one of the overhead compartments wouldn’t close properly so we all sat in our seats patiently, waiting for the captain’s “AOK” to take off. We couldn’t help but overhear these two children’s very loud and high-pitched voices. The mom and dad were constantly telling their children to be quieter but to no avail.  No one and nothing could stop these children from expressing their unbridled and indubitable excitement and marvel.

And when the plane actually took off? Well, I only wish I had a recording of these kids’ voices, bedashed with screeches of delight and tears of joy. Despite the seat belts, I could see their heads bopping up and down.

“MOM, I CAN’T BELIEVE IT. I’M SO HAPPY THAT I THINK I’M GOING TO THROW UP!”

“MOM, I’VE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING SO COOL! WE’RE IN SPACE! 

“DAD, I LOVE YOU SO MUCH FOR TAKING US ON A PLANE. I’LL NEVER BE BAD AGAIN.

“THE SKY GOES FOREVER!”

I mean, it was priceless. Everyone sitting around these children got to sit back and listen to the excitement of a child’s first airplane ride.

No one complained about the noise.

We all just looked at each other and smiled. We got to witness childlike wonder and awe.

 

childlike wonder 2

. . . and go on an airplane.

Adventures….here I come!

 

big knapsack

 

Many, LORD my God, are the wonders you have done, the things you planned for us. None can compare with you; were I to speak and tell of your deeds, they would be too many to declare.   Psalm 40.5 NIV

The heavens are yours, and yours also the earth; you founded the world and all that is in it.   Psalm 89.11 NIV


Leave a Reply

Categories

