Posted by: Diane | June 26, 2014

Kindhearted Giving

While I was standing eight hours/day at the trade show, I met some fascinating people. This was a really good thing because it took my attention off my aching feet!

As one kind-looking woman approached me, I noticed she was wearing an interesting pin and I immediately commented on it.

“Oh, I love your pin – my husband is a bass player!”

base pin

I hadn’t even finished my sentence before the woman took the pin off her sweater and pinned it on my shirt.

“Sounds like you’ll appreciate this gift. Please take it and enjoy.”

I smiled . . . and although I was taken back with her generosity, I accepted the gift because I’ve often done the very same thing to others.

My husband kids me and says,“Why bother buying you anything nice?  I know that if you really like it, eventually you’ll give it away.”

He’s right.

It’s just “stuff.” I appreciate gifts and I always keep the homemade and the “just for Diane” gifts that people have given me but there is something wonderful about giving a gift to someone for no reason at all, other than the fact that he/she likes the item. I’ve never related to “gift-giving” as my love language, but I have to admit that in certain circumstances, it brings such joy to my heart to give away things that belong to me.

It was delightful to meet another woman who feels the same way and now, I can enjoy this meaningful gift —  until I meet someone who’s married to a bass player and I’ll pass it on, with love.

 

giving love

 

I like the challenge that Gary Chapman, author of The 5 Love Languages puts forth to all of us when he writes, “The one who chooses to love will find appropriate ways to express that decision every day.”

. . . in many ways.

 

 


Responses

  1. Perfect, Diane! I love doing the same thing!
    Did Chris like the pin?
    Can’t wait to chat with you about your adventure in Atlanta!

    • Definitely an informative time at the trade show but my feet are still hurting! Yes, Chris had a big smile on his face when I showed him the pin!


Leave a Reply

Categories

