Posted by: Diane | June 25, 2014

A Good Reminder

I took the train to the wrong terminal in Atlanta this morning. Ugh! Not a good way to start the day but I scrambled to the shuttle and made my way to the right place, with time to spare.

As I waited in line to check in, I met a family from the Middle-East— mom, dad, three children and three big buggies, toppling over with the weight of all their luggage. My two days of approaching people and marketing my book must have paid off because my curiosity outweighed my fatigue and I confidently engaged the family in conversation. Turns out that this family was heading to Toronto and connecting to a flight overseas for eventual full-time mission work with an unreached people-group in predominantly Muslim region.

When the parents asked me to watch over the buggies filled to the brim with their earthly belongings as they took the kids for a bathroom break,  I couldn’t help but think about the days when I did exactly the same thing in 1994 – mom, dad and three young children, headed to Bratislava, Slovakia, to start a sport ministry.  That was so long ago and here it is – 2014 – and GoodSports continues to thrive, under the wonderful leadership of Tom and Debbie Johnson.

My, oh, my — so much life has happened since. For a few minutes, it was wonderful to get lost in the memories. Going to the wrong terminal turned out to be a good thing.

We talked further about unreached people groups in the world and they encouraged me to take a look at Joshua Project website. Years ago, when Chris and I went to Tijuana, Mexico to build houses for a week, there was a guest speaker who talked about the 10/40 Window in our world and I remember being overwhelmed with the statistics.

“The rectangular area of North Africa, the Middle East and Asia between 10 degrees north and 40 degrees north latitude. The 10/40 Window is often called “The Resistant Belt.” An estimated 4.65 billion individuals reside in approximately 8,747 distinct people groups in the 10/40 Window. The 10/40 Window is home to some of the largest unreached people groups in the world. 

 

It was wonderful to witness this family’s passion for and obedience to God.

As I looked forward to quiet time on my swing by the water, I was reminded of the Great Commission:

Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age. Matthew 28. 19,20 NIV

It’s much too easy to forget our ultimate calling in life . . . and it all begins with love.

love God love people

 

Most of all let love guide your life. Colossians 3.14

 

 

 

 


Responses

  1. I just today was talking to a friend re the 10/40 window!! Haven’t talked nor thought about it for a long time….


Leave a Reply

Categories

