Posted by: Diane | June 17, 2014

Bearing Bad News

 

It is perfectly OK to admit that ..

There are days when life feels so very heavy.

I’m coming off a very difficult week emotionally and I still feel the remnants of confusion, anger and unspeakable sadness.

Yet, life goes on.

The birds’ chirping wakes me up in the morning, the neighbours drive past our house and head to work, the rain falls, there are meals to make, gardens to water, mail to pick up, pages to write and meetings to attend — all while there is so much to process and pray about. The clock keeps ticking and I constantly feel like I’m trying to catch up to “normalcy,” whatever that is. I want to run past and overtake the pain . . . but I’m lagging behind.

Someone has passed me the baton of unexpected and disturbing news and I suppose I am supposed to pass it on but instead, I’m holding onto it, wondering what to do. Yah, it’s perfectly OK to admit that I’m not OK these days but who wants THIS baton? Who wants to be burdened with this painful reality? Everybody else is busy running their own races so I’m trying to process a lot of information on my own. I find myself retreating from conversations, wanting to be alone, trying to make sense of it all.

These are the days when I don’t run to Jesus . . . I stagger . . . but He’s there with open arms and He understands me. He listens, comforts and His Word reminds me of Him, as my Hope and the Author of better days.

anchor

 

We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.                         Hebrews 6.19 NIV

 

 

 

 


Responses

  1. Thoughts and prayers to you dear Diane as you go through these painful days. Remember, God is in control and he will not give you anything that you cannot handle, but the pain is still there….but so is He…greater is He that is in you, than he that is in the world. Keep looking up Diane xo ‘Mrs.B.’

    • Wise, comforting words, Mrs. B. Thanks too for the phone call!

  2. Hi Diane,
    My heart goes out to you. Missed you on the 7th, as I was looking forward to actually be in the same room with you!
    I have some not so shocking news! There is more than one baton out there!!!
    Lately my heart has been drawn to the truth you highlighted. Even though, we have hope that never disappoints. His unconditional love continues to overwhelm and humble us, doesn’t it?
    Thank you for your transparency. You have company!
    Warmly,
    Barb

    • We all have heaviness in our lives, don’t we, Barb? Thank you for commenting.

  3. Appreciated Mrs. B. response.😄 She is right on!!

  4. So so sorry for your pain, Di. I feel your heaviness in a personal way and stand with you through this time. Praying for peace.
    Lots of love xo

  5. Sorry you are hurting, dear friend….Certainly praying.

  6. I wish I knew what to say. Actually I felt you wanted to have some quiet processing time, but If you want to talk, I would love to. I am available Wednesday morning or Thursday morning. Prayers…..

    Wendy Rhead

    >

    • Thank you, Wendy..for your prayers. So much appreciated.


Leave a Reply

Categories

