Posted by: Diane | June 12, 2014

A Twinkle In Your Wrinkle

 

wrinkled? wonderful?

Aging is not lost youth – our North American culture has it all wrong. As Audrey Hepburn once said, “And the beauty of a woman, with passing years only grows.”

I had the delightful opportunity to speak at a Christian’s Women’s Club this week. As I looked over the audience of approximately 120 women, most of them older, I saw a room bursting with wisdom, experience, skills and stories.

Such beauty.

I was invited to speak about my book, Sisters in the Son, and what a joy it was to share my passion for older-younger woman friendships. This was the first opportunity I have had to sell my book and I was delighted that women were interested in my story! What a strange feeling to be asked to sign my books – I’ll have to be a bit more proactive and think ahead about suitable and meaningful words to write!

I recently read this quote by Douglas MacArthur — “You are as young as your faith, as old as your doubt; as young as your self-confidence, as old as your fear; as young as your hope, as old as your despair.”  There is such truth in these words. On Tuesday afternoon, I had many precious conversations with women who have walked with God for many years . . . and I was blessed.

how from infancy you have known the Holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.                                                                     2 Timothy 3.15 NIV

I left that afternoon with such joy in my heart and four precious notes in my pocket.

One woman shared this quote –  Age does not diminish the extreme disappointment of having a scoop of ice cream fall from the cone. Jim Fiebig

Wonderful thought, right?

Another woman came up to me, gave me a very tight hug, wrote her address and asked me to visit her this summer.

A third woman wrote, “Diane, thank you for sharing your heart with us. I love your sense of humour and your passion for meaningful friendships between women.  I want you to know that I do not wish to grow younger. These days are brilliant for me and I hope the same for you when you’re in your 80’s. Embrace your twilight years with wonder, continue to hold unswervingly to the hope that Christ gives us and love, love love.”

This note came from a woman, with whom I would love to have a very long cup of tea.

And last, but certainly not least, I was given this quote.

When grace is joined with wrinkles, it is adorable. There is an unspeakable dawn in happy old age. Victor Hugo

I do believe that we will be, in our older years, what we have believed and practised in our younger years. I saw this truth lived out in the lives of so many joy-filled, hope-trusting women who reminded me that “age should not have its face lifted, but it should rather teach the world to admire wrinkles as the etchings of experience and the firm line of character.” Clarence Day

 


Responses

  1. Amen!


Leave a Reply

Categories

