Posted by: Diane | June 9, 2014

When Will I Learn?

My “power-washing-everything-in-sight” Saturday morning . . . .

power washing

. . . turned into a “lay-on-my-back-and-do-nothing” Saturday afternoon and evening AND a very slow-moving Sunday.

When will I ever learn?

For me, back spasms don’t just happen — there are always warning signals. Last Thursday, my upper back muscles began to feel tight and despite routine stretches over my exercise ball, the day ended with a very sore back. I started an ice pack regimen on Friday and continued stretching but I didn’t change my busy schedule. On Saturday morning, I watered the vegetable garden and all the flowers, I power-washed with a vengeance and then proceeded to do some heavy duty gardening at an awkward angle.

By noon, all I had to do was carry a light box of books from one kitchen counter to another and the deal was done — the dreaded back spasms started.

As I lay on the couch in tears, I asked Chris,“When should I have stopped? Why do I wait until D-Day with a full spasm attack?” 

Once those spasms start, there’s no turning back — I know I’m in for a good 24 hours of lying on my bed and letting the muscle relaxants take over. Chris responded to my question with, “Doesn’t matter now, does it? Today’s a good day to lay on the couch and do nothing, Diane…so do it.”

As I laid flat on my back, God brought it to my mind that sin has the same pattern. It doesn’t just happen. You don’t wake up one morning and decide to have a full out affair that ultimately destroy another person’s family. Affairs start with a “harmless” glance and impure thoughts. You don’t just lie on your income tax – you’ve justified some omissions for the past few years. You don’t just wildly gossip about an acquaintance or shoplift or blow up in anger or sacrifice your integrity “out of the blue.” You’ve practised doing the wrong thing . . . over and over again.

There are always warning signs. There are always “yellow lights” before the red light takes over. My friend calls them, “idiot lights” and “we’d be wise not to ignore them.” There are many compromises, justifications and poor decisions that lead us to full out sin. Scripture says it like this:

but each one is tempted when, by his own evil desire, he is dragged away and enticed. Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death. James 1. 14,15 NIV

When we don’t take hold of our thoughts, confess to the Lord and deal with the emotions that drive us to sin, the final step is . . .well . . .just another step in the process.

What we need to do is power-wash sin, not soak in it. Take aim and fire – head on.

Once again, I am drawn back to what Paul Wilkinson shared, “Each moment is a created period of accountability.” His wise words are a powerful challenge, directed to how we think moment to moment, hour by hour, day by day.

Read the Bible to be wise, believe it to be strong and practise it to be holy.


Responses

  1. I also love to power wash so I love your idea of power washing sin not just give it a soak. Blast it away! Praying you feel better soon.

    • I’m up and at-em today! Yahool Thanks for praying for me, Connie!

  2. wise words as you lay flat on your back… glad to see you’re up and at ’em today, friend.

  3. Thanks, Vicky. As much as I naturally don’t like slowing down, these times when I’ve forced to stop – when I’m down and out for the count – are always good times with God.


Leave a Reply

Categories

