Posted by: Diane | April 24, 2014

Multigenerational Friendships

I was completely flustered when I couldn’t figure out how to replace the journal roll in the cash register this afternoon and the line of customers was getting longer, with some people more patient than others.

I phoned my manager so that she could talk me through the procedure but it wasn’t helping. Let’s face it — I’m just not mechanical in any way, shape or form. My manager was about to jump in her car to rescue me when a male customer spoke up and said, “Tell her to stay put for a minute. I used to work on one of these things when I was younger. I think I can figure it out.”

Thankfully, this man was a HUGE help and I was able to carry on ringing in everybody’s purchases but it took me a while to calm down. I was so stressed out that I didn’t see my elderly friend, Sandra sneak into the store.

Once all the customers had left, Sandra walked up to the counter. With a big smile, she handed me a present.

“I wanted to tell you how excited I am about your new book . . . so I made you something.”

I opened the bag and this is what I found.

Sandra's doll

I was so touched, I broke into tears – I think it was a mixture of thankfulness for her kindness and stress release from the crash register crisis. Sandra thought she had upset me so she took my hand.

“I hope you like it, Diane.  I made it especially for you.”

I leaned over the counter and gave Sandra a big hug.

“I love it, Sandra . . . I truly do. Your thoughtfulness overwhelms me. You’re a good friend.”

Sandra was in a talkative mood.

“Even though you’re a lot younger than I am, you’re a good friend too, Diane. Isn’t your book about older and younger women connecting with each other?”

I smiled.

Yup. It sure is, Sandra.”

I am blessed with wonderful friendships.

A friend reaches for your hand and touches your heart. 

Heather Pryor

In the sweetness of friendship, let there be laughter, for in the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed. 

Khalil Gibran                     


Responses

  1. What a wonderful example of what you have a passion for!
    Love, Kathy


Leave a Reply

Categories

