Posted by: Diane | April 21, 2014

It was a Dark, Dark Night…

Hi, it’s Phoenix!

When I arrived at Papak and Nana’s house last night, the lights were out and I was informed that Easter eggs were going to be hunted in the dark! Papak strapped a flashlight onto my head and off I went!

hunting by night 2

I had never participated in a late night egg hunt and I have to say, it was a lot of fun. It was very interesting when I found three eggs on top of the same picture in the living room . . . seems like the Easter Bunny has a specific route in my grandparents’ house! I also found a red berry from the Christmas decorations!

Hunting by night

I missed three white eggs, hiding on top of the thermostat — they were camouflaged.

Earlier in the day, I attended a family Easter dinner and it was so warm outside, my cousins and I ran and hid and wrestled and ate chocolate all afternoon. (yum!) I don’t remember eating anything healthy all day (except a blueberry bagel earlier in the morning!)

My cousin received a chocolate bunny named Texter — this bunny is texting on a yellow phone! When Nana saw Texter, she muffled something under her breath like, “My, my, how times have changed.”

This is the first time that I’ve ever seen a techie-bunny!

Texter

I know what Easter is really about — we talked about it last night.  Jesus died on Good Friday. I think it’s called Good Friday because Jesus took away our sins.  He rose from the grave three days later but we celebrate His resurrection on Sunday. Eggs represent life and bunnies . . .well, they’re just weird . . . but fun!

Happy Easter to all!

Phoenix

PS. Here are my favourite Easter riddles and comics.

Q. Why didn’t the bunny hop? 
A. No bunny knows.

Easter comic

Q. What kind of stories do rabbits like best?
A. Ones with hoppy endings.


Responses

  1. Sounds as though you had a great Easter Sunday with your Nana and Papak. I think that it is awesome that you know the true meaning of Easter. It is nice to get chocolate, but so much nicer to know that Jesus died to redeem us for all of eternity. Another great blog! xo ‘Mrs. B.’

    • Thanks. Nana says I can call you Mrs. B.!

  2. Great blog, Phoenix!
    The cousins and the rest of the family, ( I counted 29), had a wonderful day together. The adults enjoyed watching the kids wrestle, hide, play football, and even have a Mom join in!
    Yes, it was wonderful Easter Sunday! Thanks for your insights!….. And jokes:))

  3. I like blogging with Nana…and I’m still eating chocolate!

  4. Great job Phoenix! The late night Easter Egg hunt must have been so much fun! It was such a nice day out, I am sure everyone had a “hoppy” day!

    • Thanks, Anthony…did you like my jokes? Phoenix


Leave a Reply

Categories

