Posted by: Diane | April 17, 2014

My Book Is Born!

I got a phone call from a little store in town — “Come pick up your courier parcel.”

This was it! My book had arrived!

Title?  Sisters in the Son – Reconnecting Older and Younger Women

I can’t explain the feelings I experienced as I opened up the parcel and saw the final product for the first time.

All I can say it that it sure felt good . . .

opening the book parcel 1

. . . really good.

opening the book parcel 2

Chris arrived home late last night so I set up a star light on the kitchen table, put the first copy of my book under the light, signed the book and wrote him a card.  I turned off all the kitchen lights, went upstairs and waited to hear Chris come in the door.

first book is for Chris

My book was the first thing Chris saw when he walked into the house. I heard him put down his suitcase and sit at the kitchen table.

Silence.

He was reading my card and flipping through his copy of the book.

I was sitting on our bed, bursting with excitement but I wanted to give him that moment alone to take it all in.

The silence was beautiful.

After a few minutes, I couldn’t stand it any longer — I came flying down the stairs in my housecoat and gave him a huge hug.

He had the biggest smile on his face.

I could not have written this book without Chris’ support and love . . .

. . . and I am forever grateful to him for his time and talents.

Those moments together last night were sacred.

. . . but it was me who couldn’t get to sleep until 4:00 a.m. this morning!

Exciting times!

 

 


Responses

  1. Congratulations Diane! Many hours of hard work and the support of Chris and your friends, has finally paid off. See you at the launch May 31st. xo ‘Mrs. B.’

    • Thank you so much, Mrs. B. You’re a big part of this book! I’m so excited to share it with you! Love, Diane

  2. Congratulations Diane – I know this has been a true labour of love. Can’t wait to read it. Look at that timing of new life as we celebrate the Easter Story.

    • I am totally blown away💝I cannot wait to read it(and see you!) xo

      • You are funny!!! I am Leigh….not debbie~

    • Nice! Looking very forward to seeing you again, Debbie!

  3. Congratulations!!!! Looking forward to reading it! Do you charge extra for signing it? ha ha

  4. Congrats mom! So proud of you :). love Danae

    • That means so much, Danae. Thank you…big.

  5. Yay!!!!!!! I am so happy for you Diane and proud of this HUGE accomplishment!!! Can’t wait to celebrate!

    • Thanks, Danielle. You’ve been and continue to be a very special person in my life. Thank you for the opportunity to “experiment” on you! 🙂 I, too, am ready to celebrate!

  6. Congratulations Diane! Very exciting after all your hard work and seemingly much fun!

  7. Wow Diane that is amazing what an accomplishment. May the Lord use your book to bless others.

  8. Congratulations, Diane!
    Quite an accomplishment for sure.
    Love to read of the excitement you felt… (Christmas morning?)
    And how proud you have made your family! Stamina and hard for pays off!
    Wish you continued blessing!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, it’s exciting to finally hold the book in my hand. It’s been a long journey, for sure!


Leave a Reply

Categories

