Posted by: Diane | April 2, 2014

Authentic Worship

This past Sunday, Robin Mark led worship at our church . . . and it was amazing.

Robin is an Irish Christian singer, songwriter, worship leader and recording artist. What is so outstanding about his singing is its blissful simplicity. His “realness” in interacting with the congregation is also very evident. I remember the first time I heard his music many years ago and immediately, I was drawn to his soft voice and the rich melodic sounds of the Irish whistles, flutes and recorders in his band.

What a marvellous, unifying experience as God’s people came together to give their worship. The room was packed, the hands were up, and the voices were loud. I loved the fact that so many different-aged people were enjoying the worship time — his presentation transcended age groups. In one of his 2013 interviews, he responded to this often articulated observation.

“I must admit I don’t really know who I’m aiming at. It’s actually amuses me, the range of people who seem to have latched onto what I do – from four year old kiddies, who maybe like the simple melodies, to octogenarians. When people join together to do anything – to talk, to pray, but particularly come together to worship and to worship in unity -there’s great spiritual significance in that.”

This artist has written many good songs but one of my favourites that he sang on Sunday morning was “When It’s All Been Said and Done.” Many years ago, I told Chris I would like this song played at my funeral. Its beautiful, powerful and simple.

Just like God’s truth.

The words are below the video.

 

When it’s all been said and done
There is just one thing that matters
Did I do my best to live for truth?
Did I live my life for you?

When it’s all been said and done
All my treasures will mean nothing
Only what I have done
For love’s rewards
Will stand the test of time

Lord, your mercy is so great
That you look beyond our weakness
That you found purest gold in miry clay
Turning sinners into saints

I will always sing your praise
Here on earth and in heaven after
For you’ve joined me at my true home
When it’s all been said and done
You’re my life when life is gone.

 

What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ.  Philippians 3.8 NIV

 


Responses

  1. Very touching and beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

