Posted by: Diane | April 1, 2014

Healthy Rebellion

great letter writing comic

Last week, I rebelled.

I wrote fourteen “thinking of you” cards, bought stamps and mailed the cards to friends.

Crazy, huh?

It felt wonderful — it’s been a very long time since I posted a letter.

Believe it or not, I received fourteen emails, texts or phone calls from the recipients, expressing their delight in receiving an actual letter in their mail box.

“You made my day!” (x 6)

“I had almost forgotten how to open an envelope!”

“Sammy (the 15-year-old daughter of my friend) saw the card sitting on the kitchen table and couldn’t believe that I would take the time to write a card, when all I had to do was text!”

“Loved seeing actual handwriting!”

“I miss your letters, Diane. You used to write all the time.”

It’s true. I used to be an avid letter/card writer.

In fact, I spent hours and hours writing all kinds of letters and cards — love letters, “I miss you” letters, “just wanted you to know I was thinking of you” cards, long detailed letters about my travelling adventures, goofy post cards, secret code letters to my kids when they were at overnight camp, calligraphy,  surprise cards under pillows . . .

I still write love letters to my husband.

I write in my journal.

. . . but it sure feels good to pick up a pen, sit down on a chair . . . and make time to write a friend.

I’m going to do it more often.

write more hand written letters 2

 

Oh, don’t you like to write letters.  I do because it’s such a swell way to keep from working and yet feel you’ve done something.  ~Ernest Hemingway

Letter writing is the only device for combining solitude with good company.  ~Lord Byron


Leave a Reply

Categories

