Posted by: Diane | March 27, 2014

Pursue Peace

“Walk In the Word” is a Bible-teaching broadcast ministry, led by James MacDonald.

He is currently working his way through a series entitled, “Reality Check” and early this week, I happened to catch a thought-provoking message on relationships, based on 1 Peter 3.

James asked this question: “Who wants to love life and see good days?”

As I was driving to a coffee shop in Uxbridge to meet a friend, my internal response to this question was, “Who wouldn’t?” I want to see good days. I want to embrace every day of my life and live it to its fullest.

James continued, “Well, if you want to love life and see good days, you need to keep your tongue from evil and your lips from deceitful speech. Turn from evil and do good; seek peace and pursue it.”  (paraphrase of 1 Peter 3.10-11)

‘Whoa.’ If I want to love life and see good days, I have to watch my tongue? That’s it? That’s what I have to do? It’s not about working hard or loving others or giving generously or trusting God? It’s about my tongue???

‘Whoa’ again.

It’s about what comes out of my mouth about others.  It’s about making things right. It’s about relational peace.

When I think back on my life, I realize that anxiety and sadness, restless sleep and tears were so often about relational discord. Relationships can get so messy —miscommunication and misunderstanding rob us of deep joy. Living out the “one anothers” in the Bible are all about actively pursing peace.

Healthy, loving relationships take work.

 

friendship cookies

So far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.                                                        Romans 12.18 NIV


Responses

  1. THAT’s a good word, Di. Thanks!

  2. Thank you for your blog article. Great. defbkeddddka


Leave a Reply

Categories

