Posted by: Diane | March 18, 2014

Poncho Boy

Ed lives in the retirement home in our little town and I met him last fall in the store. He’s a kind man and our nine-year-old grandson,Phoenie met him for the first time when he came for our family Christmas dinner a few months ago.  The two of them struck up a very nice friendship, so when Chris went to visit Ed last week, Phoenie was more than happy to tag along.

In the midst of their three-way conversation, Ed turned to Phoenie and said, “I’ve got a present for you” and handed Phoenie a poncho that he bought in Mexico twenty years ago.

Phoenie was delighted.

Phoenix and Ed with his new poncho

For the rest of the weekend, Phoenie was running around our house in his underwear and poncho. As he whizzed past me and headed to the back room, I asked him, “Don’t you want to get some pants on?” He answered, “Not really. . . I’m living the life!”

There’s something to be said about the older-younger generation hangin’ out together. Phoenie’s presence brought a smile to Ed’s face and Ed’s gentleness made Phoenie comfortable and welcome.

No formality. Just keeping it simple and keeping it real.

You have been my hope, O Sovereign Lord, my confidence since my youth. Since my youth, O God, you have taught me, and to this day I declare your marvellous deeds. Even when I am old and gray, do not forsake me, O God, till I declare your power to the next generation, you might to all who are to come.          Psalm 71. 5,17,18  NIV


Leave a Reply

Categories

