Posted by: Diane | March 5, 2014

Your Love Is Better Than Life

Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. Psalm 63.3 NIV

That’s quite the declaration. Definitely something to ponder.

I was struggling spiritually at the end of 2013. I recently reread some of my November/December blogs and realized how much I distanced myself from God. Life was feeling more like a grind, than a gift. No question—in my life, there have been seasons when I have not yearned for God. It’s no coincidence that these were the times that I made a full schedule and kept moving. I didn’t stop because I didn’t want to look at the mess.

When 2014 opened up in all its glory, I made a conscious decision to get back into the Bible on a daily basis. I found a reading plan that works for me (I can’t read the Bible in one year – it’s just too much reading every day and I become defeated about eight days into the commitment) and I’ve stuck with it.

Consistent time in God’s Word began as a discipline but it has become a delight.

In the early morning, I make my infamous smoothie, load up my oatmeal with good stuff, plop myself down on the couch and read my Bible. I saw a picture this morning that perfectly expresses how I feel when I’m reading God’s word.

delight in the Lord 2

I believe that God desires our delight and He delights in being our desire. This morning, I read about Aaron’s sons, Nadab and Abihu, who “offered unauthorized fire before the Lord, contrary to His command and were consumed by a fire that came out from the presence of the Lord.” (Leviticus 10) I didn’t know that God instructed Moses not to eat weasels, owls or skinks (Leviticus 11) and from Psalm 63, I was reminded to cling to God. I like that word, “cling”. These days, I open the Bible with anticipation and expectation to learn . . . and it feels wonderful.

My heart is happy these days and I know the Word of God is making it so. Delight in the Lord 4


Responses

  1. I’m with you! Love it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

