Posted by: Diane | February 21, 2014

Abundance

I remember a friend of mine telling me this:

don't get all weird about getting older..

I love the attitude behind it!

This week, I spent an afternoon with some older women. I was asked to come and speak about the OVERFLOW! group and I had such a delightful time with these fourteen extraordinary women. The world has truly been enjoying most of these women for over 70 years.

Certainly the highlight of the time for me was when one woman spoke up and said, “In many ways, we’re just young minds in aging bodies.” 

The room went silent for a moment…and then the heads started nodding.

There is great truth in this woman’s avowal because older and younger women have more in common than they differ. I watched these women giggle and ponder, question and lament for three hours and had I only heard a recording of their voices and not seen them in person, there would have been many moments that I would not have known that most of these women were grand and great grandmothers.

The thing that “gave them away” was their wisdom.

No question – their perspectives on life could only come from “been there, made that mistake” experience.

One of my favourite quotes is from Mark Twain:

We should be careful to get out of an experience only the wisdom that is in it – and stop there; lest we be like the cat that sits down on a hot stove-lid.  She will never sit down on a hot stove-lid again – and that is well; but also she will never sit down on a cold one anymore.

Learning to respond well to all of life’s experiences  – the good and the not so good – can propel us to a rich and full life.

Abundant life isn’t just for the young. (John 10.10)

Thank you, Gwen – for inviting me. Thank you, ladies – for welcoming me with open arms and inquisitive minds.

Thank you, Karen – for coming along for the ride and for your loving and faithful friendship. You are loved.

With age can come glorious wisdom.

the great thing about getting older 2

The great thing about getting older is that you don’t lose all the other ages you’ve been. Madeleine L’Engle


Responses

  1. It sounds like a wonderful gathering……
    At my age, my spirit feels much younger than my outward appearance.


Leave a Reply

Categories

