Posted by: Diane | February 20, 2014

Speech Contest Time

It’s that time of the year when I start Toastmasters speech competitions.

To be honest, I’ve been playing around with this particular topic for close to a year and I’ve really enjoyed writing the actual speech this past month. This time, Chris helped me get my thoughts on paper and it turns out that he’s a real natural, when it comes to finding the perfect words. I enjoyed sitting in the living room with him, trying out phrases and wrestling with vocabulary. Thomas Mann once said that, “a writer is a person for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.” 

Absolutely true – even with help, writing takes so much out of me…but thanks, Chris – for being “all there” in the process.

My first speech competition is on Monday, February 24th.

When I was doing my devotions yesterday, I came across this verse:

My heart is stirred by a noble theme as I recite my verses for the king; my tongue is the pen of a skilful writer.                                                           Psalm 45.1 New International Version

I like this translation too.

My heart bursts its banks, spilling beauty to the king, shaping the river into words.                                                                                                                 Psalm 45.1 The Message

…and this one.

My heart overflows with a pleasing theme; I address my verses to the king; my tongue is like the pen of a ready scribe.                                                 Psalm 45.1 English Standard Version

Being a writer and a speaker, this verse inspires me. I desire that my heart overflows with a pleasing theme – as I speak, as I write and as I live.

It was William Wadsworth who said, “Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.”

Canadian author, Jean Little wrote, “Your only responsibility as a writer is to be true to the story that has chosen you as its writer.”

I assume that goes for speaking too – to be faithful to the message that God has put on my heart.

Oh, how I desire my tongue to be the pen of a skilful writer.


Responses

  1. A beautiful verse. Each translation has its own beauty. So enjoying your posts. I reposted your newspaper clipping on Facebook and have shared your blog with new friends at the pool. Blessings to you as you find the right words.

  2. Thanks, Kathy. You’re right – each translation does have its own beauty. So glad that you’re enjoying the blog and happy to hear that you’re making friends at the pool! Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

