Posted by: Diane | February 18, 2014

The Sunset Blanket

Well, well…look who found herself in the local paper!

newspaper article - sunset blanket

My sunset blanket made it into the Brock Citizen!

The editor of the paper came for a visit in January and we had a great chinwag together. Chris was able to join us for the morning and it was quite fascinating for us to learn about what an editor of a local newspaper actually does. In a word? EVERYTHING! – edit, photograph, interview, write and lay out the entire paper – the whole shebang!

Welcome to small town mentality. I love it.

The day after this article was published in the paper, I received a phone call from a 77-year-old man who had seen the blanket and was interested in buying it. To make a long story short, “John” thought that his lesbian daughter would really like this blanket as a gift because it had “the gay colours” in it.

I can honestly say that not once, in the entire year of 2013 – as I was crocheting this sunset blanket – did it occur to me that someone would want this blanket because it was crocheted with the rainbow flag colours. To be honest, I was surprised that anyone would want this twelve foot monstrosity at all!

John and I talked on the phone for almost an hour – he wanted to tell me his story. He shared that he was not gay and initially, he really struggled with the news of his daughter’s homosexuality.

Then he said the following:

“My wife has died and a lot of my friends have died. I have two beautiful daughters – one is gay and the other one isn’t – and I cherish my relationship with them both. It’s the relationships that matter – I don’t have to agree with their lifestyles. I just want to make sure that they know how much I love them because I’m not going to live forever. I really do think “Amanda” and her partner would really like your blanket – that’s why I’m wondering if you would sell it to me.”

I was so touched by his love for his daughters.

I kindly explained that the blanket was not for sale because it had special significance to me.

John continued the conversation.

“Well, would you make me a blanket for my daughter?  Of course, I would pay you. I’ve enjoyed talking with you and I would still like you to make a beautiful blanket for Amanda. I know she would love it and I know you would love her too. She’s a wonderful person.”

I was immediately reminded of 1 Corinthians 13.1.

If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 

So, I’m making a blanket for Amanda…

…and John’s coming over for tea to meet Chris and I because he’s lonely and in his words, he “needs a friend.

Love takes us on unexpected journeys.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.   1 Corinthians 13. 4,5 NIV


Responses

  1. God surely opens doors of opportunity for you to share your faith Diane. It is not up to us to judge others but to show the love that is in 1 Cor. 13….one of my favourite portions of scripture. Love to hear stories like this and I will be following this story as it unfolds. xo ‘Mrs. B.’

    • Thanks, Mrs. B. It certainly was a pleasure to talk with John. I’m looking forward to meeting him! 1 Corinthians is always a challenge in any relationship,isn’t it?

  2. Once again Diane, God uses your talents, and generousity of heart and spirit to reach out and touch the ones like John and Amanda whom He loves and cares about. Thanks for living what you believe…. and sharing it with us in a humble beautiful way. Carolyn


Leave a Reply

Categories

