Posted by: Diane | February 7, 2014

Ashes To Beauty

sometimes good things...

I believe this – it’s a recurring theme in the Bible and as I reflect on my life, I can think of many circumstances when I have felt great disappointment, only to be lifted to a much better place at a much better time.

I don’t know the circumstances in Marilyn Monroe’s life that led her to make such an insightful observation about life but nonetheless, truth is truth. 

This is the way God works.

There are overwhelming moments when life can feel pretty hopeless but God gets His hands on the situation and creates beauty from ashes. He takes a seemingly huge setback and says, “Hold on, Diane…stay with Me….wait for me….I know what’s best. My thoughts are greater than your thoughts and my ways greater than your ways. There’s more to come – I’m not finished yet.”

My first completed manuscript has been sitting in a drawer since its second rejection and truthfully, I felt pretty deflated about it. I never gave up but I lost perspective. It’s all part and parcel of being a writer, but knowing that intellectually doesn’t always translate experientially. I felt stuck  – unsure of the next step.

So, I left it for a while and concentrated on a second manuscript.

Two weeks ago, I opened up that drawer, dusted off the cobwebs and started rewriting. Through a series of events, Chris and I decided it was time to self publish this book. Once we made that decision and took the risk to commit financially to this project, everything started rolling again.

I’m excited to say that if everything stays on schedule, I will have book-in-hand this May.

I’ve got a lot of writing and rewriting to do in the next few weeks. I’m pumped to put the finishing touches on a book that communicates a lifelong passion of mine.

So… I’m taking a week off from blogging from Monday, February 10 – 17th. I will post some oldies but goodies in their stead.

My prayer is that this book will indeed be a display of His splendor and my delight with the OVERFLOW! group that’s been meeting for the past four years.

It’s going to be quite the ride this week as I cloister myself in the front room and write to my heart’s content!

Better things are falling together these days.

and provide those who grieve in Zion – to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair. They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the Lord for the display of his splendor.  Isaiah 61.3 NIV


Responses

  1. You go girl! The Lord will surely bless you as you have committed yourself to complete this book. xo ‘Mrs. B.’

  2. At least start a list of people who want to buy your book. Place me on top, OK?

  3. yay!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories