Posted by: Diane | February 5, 2014

A Good Friend

It took a mighty blast through a four foot snow drift and about fifteen minutes of waiting in the car for me to clue into the fact that Phoenie’s school bus wasn’t coming this morning. School was cancelled for the day but I’m a little out of “mom” practice when it comes to elementary school snow day policies.

Phoenie was delighted and let out a huge “Yahoo!” from the back seat of the car but I had to do some scrambling to cancel some appointments set up for the day. The best that I could do was to take Phoenie to his after school babysitter for 11:30 a.m. so Phoenie and I started into another day together.

At 9:30 am. I was very surprised to hear a knock on the front door.

My daughter’s friend had surmised that Phoenie’s bus was cancelled and she decided on her own initiative, to come over and relieve me of my babysitting duties.

“I just figured you had plans for the day so I thought I would help out” was how Jenn explained her unexpected presence.

Wow. How nice is that? This young lady chose to be inconvenienced for the entire day, change her plans and traipse through a blizzard in order to help me out…and she was the one with two kids of her own! That’s kindness, thoughtfulness, consideration and being “others centered” all wrapped up in one good friend.

A little consideration, a little thought for others, makes a big difference.

think of others

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.         Philippians 2.3


Responses

  1. I thought Diane that you’d love the lyrics of this song , sung by a wonderful family, the Collingsworths, out of Ohio , http://youtu.be/K2jdHDiPzQo


Leave a Reply

Categories

