Posted by: Diane | January 29, 2014

Listening

On the way home from Cambridge yesterday, I stopped in at a Tim Hortons to get a cup of tea.

As I approached the young female server, she looked at me and said, “You really look happy. No…not happy….joyful.”

This young woman looked like she wanted to talk. I looked around and realized there were no other customers in the store so I took the opportunity to get into a conversation.

It went something like this:

Diane:  Insightful observation. So, how do you distinguish between “happy” and “joyful?”

Server: Hm…I think joy goes deeper. I don’t want to be working at Tim Hortons the rest of my life – it’s not the place for me – but I can still be joyful doing something that I don’t really like.

Diane: What DO you want to do the rest of your life?

Server: I want to be a funeral director. 

Diane: Cool! How come?

Server: (she looked down..didn’t speak for a few seconds) My mom and dad died in a car accident about two months ago – drunk driver hit them – and when my brother and I went to the funeral home, I couldn’t believe how well the people there took care of us.  I don’t know what we would have done without their help. It was like they were always five steps ahead of me.

Diane: I’m so sad to hear about your parents. Who’s taking care of you and your brother?

Server: I’m taking care of me and my brother. It’s tough. The neighbours help sometimes but I feel like I’m a mother now, instead of a twenty-year-old.  

Diane: You’re an amazing young lady. 

Server: Thanks. Sometimes it’s just good to talk about it. 

Diane: You’re right about that.  

Server: Do you believe in God?

Diane: I do.

Server: Thought so. Thanks for listening. 

“Lucy” came from behind the counter and gave me a big hug.

It was another sacred moment.

It’s always good to be two ears to another.

Knowledge speaks but wisdom listens. Jimi Hendrix

two ears, no waiting


Leave a Reply

Categories

