Posted by: Diane | January 24, 2014

Little Miss Stubborn

Ugh! It happened again.

Back spasms.

I’m so angry at myself for not submitting to the well-known, age-old warning signs that I was experiencing the night before. I know better.  I’ve been having back spasms about twice/year for the past twenty-five years, ever since I stretched my upper body into the middle of the back seat of the car, at that totally unnatural angle, to get my son out of his car seat. I remember the strange sensation in the middle of my back and the subsequent, increasingly painful contractions that followed. The only way that I can explain the sensation is that it feels like I’m having “a baby in my back” – the contractions are exactly the same.

I admit it – yesterday morning, I was as stubborn as the contractions were hard.

Little Miss Stubborn

I was scheduled for an 8.5 hour work day at the store so Chris reluctantly drove me to work, after strongly suggesting that I call in sick. My response?

“I can’t call in sick – there’s no one to replace me. I’ll be OK, Chris.”

I'm returning these glasses.

I’m not stubborn – my way is just better……or not?

I worked from 9-2 and I couldn’t do it any longer. Between customers, I was either running to the dry-cleaning room to stretch over a big roll of newsprint or I was lying backwards on my exercise ball, behind the front counter. The toughest thing was serving the customers, while my back was in the middle of a contraction.

After five hours, I realized I was losing it. The “Aha” moment came when I went to the back room to look for some 8 x 11 inch painting canvasses and when there were none to be found, I broke into tears.

I needed help.

I surrendered.

Chris came to pick me up and I spent the next nineteen hours flat on my back, having my husband periodically massage the inflamed area in my back, (I woke him up at 1:11 am. for this procedure) drugged up with muscle relaxants and laying on a cold pack on and off.

I couldn’t do a thing but lay still.

This morning, at about 11:00 am, the contractions stopped.  Apparently, I slept right through the phone call from my boss, who kindly told Chris to pass on the message that “If that happens again, just close up the store, leave a note on the door, go home and rest.”…..which I have to admit, is EXACTLY what my husband had lovingly suggested earlier in this crisis.

I have never thought of myself as a stubborn person but when I came across a telling quote this morning, I  felt like I had gotten “caught in the act.” 

I felt convicted.

The difference between perseverance and obstinacy is that one comes from a strong will, and the other from a strong won’t. Henry Ward Beecher

Hm…something to ponder over today, as I shuffle around the house.

By the way, not once did my loving husband say, “I told you so.” 

He’s a wise man.


Responses

  1. Sorry to hear this Di., but love your honest blog! It ‘s hard being put out of commission, when there’s lots to do. I certainly can relate…

  2. I know a few very similar people, great quote…. Like a mirror! Hope the back baby disappears for a long while 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

