Posted by: Diane | January 14, 2014

Games On Phones

Believe it or not, I have never played a video game.

Not once.

Video games have never interested me – I can think of a thousand things I would rather do then sit down and waste time on a dumb game…

…but then my husband made the grave mistake of introducing me to 4 Pics, 1 Word and then proceeded to put the game on my new phone.

Not a good idea.

4 Pics, 1 Word

For the first time in my life, my head is down and my goal is to accumulate points. I’m hooked. Here I am, wasting time on a dumb game.

I never thought it would come to this.

Chris can hear me playing it in the bathroom, under the bed covers, in the back seat, on the elliptical machine and recently, he actually caught me playing while I was talking on the phone to a friend. This afternoon, I was playing it while I was waiting in the reception area of my doctor’s office and to my surprise, the technician in the lab put her needle down and played a couple of rounds with me before she took blood from me.

I’m doing pretty well with these picture puzzles – I’m up to Level 210…no…make that Level 211…actually, now it’s Level 212. 🙂 but I’m beginning to realize how much time it’s taking out of my day. What would I be doing with these little pockets of time if I wasn’t staring at four pictures?

Hm…I could be reading. I could be thinking of my family or talking to friends. I could be doing something productive. I could be writing. I could be cleaning or exercising or praying or cooking or doing any of a thousand other activities.

Now, don’t get me wrong – I don’t think there’s anything wrong with playing this game but I’m wrestling with “how much is too much?” You won’t be seeing me “Candy Crushing” any time soon or secretly adding other games to my repertoire – no, I’m a one-game-woman but I’m playing this one game too much.

Looking at pictures, guessing and pressing letters…it’s really addictive. It takes me away from reality. It interferes with my day.  Playing this game has even stopped me from falling asleep right away. When a Christian friend once told me, “His Word, Last Word” before you go to sleep,  I don’t think he meant this kind of “word.”)

So, I recognize the problem – that’s the first step.

Now I have to come up with a plan of attack.

I’ll start by putting down the phone…yes!  Level 213!

…now.


Responses

  1. Yes, I’m sure many people can relate. I alternate between Candy Crush, Words of Wonder, and WordTwist. It’s a good break from other “must-dos”.
    But….addicting too…..

  2. Oh, please don’t give me any ideas, Kathy! 🙂

  3. I love your story! I admit that I am very addicted to candy crush saga and pet rescue saga to kill time at work while I wait for my student. I am trying hard not to use it at home as like you say it will take over my life! It relaxes me! ha


Leave a Reply

Categories

