Posted by: Diane | January 8, 2014

What’s so funny?

I married a man who makes me laugh.

There are very few days that go by without Chris giving his humorous perspective on some event in the world or making me laugh at the simplest things in everyday life.

No question – life is better when I’m laughing.

There are some people who make me laugh a little louder, smile a little bigger and live just a little bit better. Chris is one of those people.

This morning, I woke up with ear plugs stuck to my hair, Chris caught me playing 4 Pics, 1 Word under the covers and I found a long-lost set of car keys in my housecoat pocket. This was all great fodder for Chris and he humorously, but graciously reminded me of the time when I found my glasses in the freezer and the fact that I spill tea on pretty much everything I wear. Chris also made me venture outside in my workout shorts, rain boots and bed-head so I wouldn’t miss the snow drifts that entombed our six foot hedges…

snow capped hedges

 ..and if it wasn’t for Chris’ prodding this morning, I would have missed a great moment when he brushed the snow layer off the bird feeder and the chickadees swooped in and rediscovered the peanut butter poking out of the log holes.

Never underestimate the benefits of laughter – muscle relaxation, pain reduction, lowering of blood pressure, decrease in stress hormone levels, cardiovascular conditioning, natural anti-depressant, shifts perspective, strengthening of the immune system…and don’t forget how great it feels. There is nothing better than “laughing your head off” and I am so thankful that I am married to a man whose priority is to make me smile every day.

By the way, Chris…I’m still wearing the smile you gave me.

laughter is an instant vacation

A merry heart does good, like medicine…(Proverbs 17.22a) 


Responses

  1. You have a wonderful way with words. All the best for 2014! Thinking of you. Erika and Dave

    • Thanks so much, Erika. Much appreciated.


Leave a Reply

Categories

