Posted by: Diane | January 2, 2014

Yearning For Jesus

I had lots of time today to think about Jesus.

I worked an 8.5 hour day at the store and my job was to take a detailed inventory of all the Christmas merchandise left in the store.  I kept busy counting, packing and storing but I also made time to think about what Jesus means to me – I haven’t done that for a while.

As I reflect on 2013, I’m sad to say that I didn’t spend a lot of time with Jesus. Maybe I’m being hard on myself when I admit that publicly – I mean, how much time is the right amount of time?  I’m not a “should” person and I don’t think that Jesus wants me to meet with Him because I should – I believe Jesus is delighted when I meet with Him because I want to...because I desire Him…because I yearn for Him.

As I was working, I took some time to meditate on the words of the song that I put on the blog yesterday. The song is entitled, “Yearn” and the words of the chorus spoke deeply to my heart.

holy design
this place in time
that i might seek and find my God
my God

Lord i want to yearn for You
i want to burn with passion
over You and only You
Lord i want to yearn

Your joy is mine
yet why am i fine
with all my singing and bringing grain
in light of Him

Lord i want to yearn for You
i want to burn with passion
over You and only You
Lord i want to yearn

oh You give life and breath
through Him You give all things
in Him we live and move
that’s why i sing

Yearn for God – that’s what I want to do.

I’ve been in that place before – when I yearned – when life was painful and overwhelming; when I needed Him every second of my day –  but I lost incredible intimacy because 2013 life wasn’t hurting so much.

Does that happen to you?  Do you run to Jesus when you’re hurting but only saunter towards Him when you’re getting through your days with ease?

I’ve forgotten to remember when “I laid low in the dust and God’s Word revived me.” (Psalm 119:25) I’ve forgotten to remember when “He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; when He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. (Psalm 40.2) I’ve forgotten to remember  when I dug my own cisterns, broken cisterns that didn’t hold water.” (Jeremiah 2.13) I’ve forgotten to rejoice in the Lord always. (Philippians 4.4.)

I’ve forgotten my first love.

I’ve forgotten what it feels like to fall to my knees in praise and be swept away by His love and mercy.

I’ve forgotten the joy of my salvation.

I’ve seen Him in my days but I haven’t stopped to thank Him enough.

So, now is an excellent time to draw near to Him.

I want my love for God...

For in him, we live and move and have our being.  Acts 17.28a


Responses

  1. Hi sweet friend, great blog…. And we need to chat…. I am in that place, needing Him, yearning for Him…. He is my first love, and I want to be in that place where my heart dances for Him…. What a beautiful poster 🙂

    You always bless me!
    Xo Carolyn
    Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  2. What a raw, honest blog, one that most of us would not admit to. I res

    • Being honest about this is a really good start to growth, right?

      • Yes, I agree, Diane.i respect you for it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

