Posted by: Diane | December 31, 2013

Sunset Blanket 2013

Here it is – the unveiling of my 2013 sunset blanket!

I’ve been crocheting the colors of every sunset for the past 365 days and this is the result.

2913 sunset blanket - finished

It’s been a creation of observation, patience and marvel.

Every day, as the late afternoon unfolded, I stopped whatever I was doing and watched the sun set in all of its glory. Every evening, I sat on the couch and crocheted one row of sunset color.

The blanket is incredibly heavy – I think anyone who tries to lie under it for any length of time might risk the chance of being smothered to death – but it would definitely keep you warm in the process. I can tell you that it was really tough to lie under all this heaviness during the hot and steamy summer nights but by when July and August rolled around, there was no other way of getting the job done, other than draping this monstrosity over the legs.

Now comes the challenge of figuring out what to do with this blanket.

Chris and I have been throwing a couple of interesting display ideas around for the past few weeks so when we get everything hung, I’ll show you the final result.

One big year produced one big blanket.

So many different experiences – so many textures and colors.

I wonder what 2014 will bring?

happy new year 2014 fireworkslight-f22456


Responses

  1. I think that the town of Beverton might be interested in displaying it as an artistic rendition of Beverton sunsets. It might also inspire artists to get on board and do the same in their medium! Just a thought. Send a photo of it to Snapd Beaverton or whatever is in your area. It may bring lots of interest. If I lived there I’d certainly get on that bandwagon! I LOVE it! And not be use you’re related :))

  2. Awesome, beautiful blanket! We Lindstroms are all marvelling at it’s beauty!
    BTW I am glad Diane you have found a lesson in patience using the dish soap bottle. Do remember however you can water down your detergent slightly if your patience runs a muck! Happy New Year! XO

    • No…I like the patience lessons..so I’ll just keep the dishwashing liquid as is! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for the kind words about the blanket!

  3. So, will your next blanket be high and low temperatures of the day (reversible)???

  4. Thinking of you and wishing you and Chris a healthy, happy New Year! Thanks for all your great 2013 blogs and speeches, can’t wait to hear what you share in 2014!
    Hugs across the miles ๐Ÿ™‚ CJ
    Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

    • Thanks so much, Carolyn…Happy New Year to you!

  5. I have been a ‘crotcheter’ for years and I know that this was a labour of love. It is absolutely beautiful Diane and it should be on display in Beaverton to show the residents your rendition of the beautiful and colourful sunsets. See you on the 5th. Happy New Year to you and your family. xo ‘Mrs. B.’

    • Thanks for your kind words. I’ve seen your beautiful crocheted blankets, Mrs. B….every one of them, made with love.

  6. You know that I LOVE it! Snuggling with it around me last time I was there was a highlight, and heck, it was only November-big at that point! I hope you are still considering bringing it as a part of your ‘talk’ with the ladies at the Freshstart bible study at the end of the month. Can’t wait to see you!

    • Can’t wait to see you and the ladies too! We’re still on!


Leave a Reply

Categories

