Posted by: Diane | December 30, 2013

Patience In A Bottle

This made me laugh.

before you marry a person...

Nowadays, a computer with slow internet is a real character revealer.

How do you feel about a big, long wait?

Nobody likes to wait – whether it’s the customer in the line at the pharmacy or the single person waiting to get married or the unemployed waiting for a job to come his way or the depressed individual waiting to feel better or the high school student waiting to hear if she got accepted into her university of choice or the waiting of a childless couple or the unhappy individual who is waiting for change – there’s a lot of waiting in our days.

It reminds me of an intentional, daily, patience-challenge in my life.

A while back, my sister-in-law gave me a really pretty soap dispenser that sits by our kitchen sink.

patience in a bottle

I find it quite fascinating that on the days that I really need to slow down, the soap comes out of this container at a snail’s pace. Even on the best of days, I have to hold this container for a good six or seven seconds before any of the dishwashing liquid cooperates but on those really busy days, when I need quick results, it can take ten or twelve seconds before anything comes out of that nozzle…and I just have to stand there and wait.

Strategically, we have an extremely popular bird feeder outside our kitchen window and at pretty much any time of the day, there are woodpeckers and cardinals burrowing their beaks into holes filled with peanut butter, chickadees pecking away at the suet and bluejays wrestling with the peanut ring.

It sounds ludicrous but that dishwashing liquid container and these busy birds have taught me some great lessons about the discipline of patience. The odd time when the challenge of waiting for that soap to drip becomes painfully difficult, I sometimes raise my voice and in frustration, say to my husband who is passing by that, “I had to wait 12 seconds for the soap to come out this time!”  Without exception, Chris responds with some kind of humorous comment about my character and then he redirects my attention to all the action on the bird feeder.

Patience is about living in the moment and this is truly an intentional and challenging mindset.  People don’t naturally want to be gradually refined – they want to be instantly gratified.  We were born with an innate tendency to do what we want to do when we want to do it. Our flesh cringes at the thought of having to wait, yet God’s Word compels us to wait on the Lord.

I once heard John Ortberg say, “what God does in us while we wait is as important as what we’re waiting for.”

Waiting is not just something we have to do until we get what we want. Waiting is part of the process of becoming what God wants us to be…

…so thank you, Julianne for my patience-in-a-bottle and thank you, God for birds.

May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy Colossians 1.11 ESV

 


Responses

  1. Love this blog! I can completely relate to this. I too have the same bootle from Julianne. You’re right!! It sometimes takes FOREVER for the soap to dispense. Yes, it is also teaching me to wait… to breathe, also look out on my bird feeder!!
    Enjoy the birds. God has put them there for a reason :))


Leave a Reply

Categories

