Posted by: Diane | December 28, 2013

How Does Christmas Happen For You?

I made an interesting observation today.

After taking an informal survey during my eight hour shift at smallMart, the overwhelming consensus from both men and women customers is that women make Christmas happen.

(Now, hold on…I know there is something very wrong with that statement…but read on…)

It definitely explains why I feel so exhausted after Christmas…every year.

I’m not saying that Chris doesn’t do anything – on the contrary, he kept pretty busy on Christmas day, roasting the turkey. He also took a number of trips to the grocery store, helped with the Christmas tree and put up the lights on the outside of the house.  This year, he was sick for most of Christmas so I took on extra responsibilities because Chris was hibernating, trying to get over a nasty flu.

The reality is that the actual organization of Christmas – getting all the presents bought, wrapped and delivered, cleaning the house, making all the cookies, figuring out the logistics of when and how our kids were going to get to our place, changing beds, decorating the house, setting the Christmas mood, making sure the traditions are followed – that’s my job…

…and it seems this is the way things work in other homes as well. When Christmas is over and the women come into smallMart, they’re all exhausted. They’re happy that the day is over and there seems to be great victory experienced in putting Christmas back in its boxes. There is constant mention of “doing things differently next year and maybe even going to Mexico for the holidays.”

When Christmas is over and the men come into smallMart, they are much more relaxed looking and they confess that they “really didn’t do that much.”

Now, having rhymed off all my accomplishments, let me say that I’m not proud of myself. I’m actually quite embarrassed.

Why do I have to “organize” Christmas?

I am always so busy making Christmas happen that I only experience fleeting moments of Christmas joy.

I know that Christmas isn’t about any of these busy-bee activities but hey, if I don’t do it, who will? Christmas doesn’t just happen, right?

…or does it?

If I did nothing but experience the peace of Jesus – if I truly rejoiced in His birth and simply reflected on the spiritual truths in my advent calendar, would Christmas still happen? What would it be like?

I can’t even imagine that.

I have experienced fifty seven Christmases…yet I have so much to learn about truly celebrating the birth of Christ.

How does Christmas happen for you?

birdhouse 2

And you will have joy and gladness, and many will rejoice at his birth. Luke 1:14 


Leave a Reply

Categories

