Posted by: Diane | December 19, 2013

Blankets And More Blankets

There is nothing better than a homemade blanket…

…and I’ve received two of them this Christmas. I’m sure you’re wondering why I opened up these two gifts before December 25th but there’s actually three good reasons.

1. I couldn’t wait.

2. Chris wasn’t here to stop me when I opened the first one from my co-worker.  I had just gotten home from a work party and it was just me and that package staring at each other.

I couldn’t help myself – a beautiful, crocheted-with-love throw.

Michele's blanket

As far as the explanation goes regarding the second blanket, as soon as Chris arrived home last night, he noticed that the big, mystery package was addressed “Chris and Diane.” He didn’t seem to have any doubts about unwrapping that box – delayed gratification just doesn’t seem to work in this particular situation – and we’re now the proud owners of a warm, flannel-blocked, full-sized blanket.

Ed's blanket

3. We don’t have a Christmas tree to put the wrapped presents under.  It’s December 19th and we’re without a tree. Why?

Well, because Chris has been travelling so much and we haven’t been able to get out during the few precious hours that he’s been home. The plan was to cut down, drag into the house and decorate a tree last weekend but Chris’ flight was cancelled because of the snow storm. The whole Christmas tree process is definitely a duo dynamic so I’ve just had to wait until he unpacked his bags for good.

He’s finally home to stay so getting a Christmas tree is #1 priority tomorrow.

And talking about blankets, which I love to do, stay tuned and I’ll be presenting the final result of my 365-day sunset blanket that I’ve been working on since January 1st of this year. I have less than two weeks of crocheting left and the masterpiece will be unveiled!


Responses

  1. So glad chris I’d now home with you!! Love the very generous loving gifts of warmth! See you in a few days!

    • They’re beautiful gifts, that’s for sure!

  2. you know you’re talking my language when you’re talkin’ blankets! I can’t wait to see the finished blanket since I LOVED snuggling under it when it was only November.

    • Well, it’s one HUGE blanket, Vicky….wait ’til you see what we’re going to do with it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

