Posted by: Diane | December 3, 2013

A Touching Moment

An older couple came into our store many times last summer, looking for a key fob. These people were precious – their beautiful spirits radiated and the three of us had many conversations.  Every time they visited the store, they asked, “Did you get those key fobs in yet?  We just love using them” and every time, I had to regretfully answer, “No…they haven’t come in yet but they’re back ordered. Keep trying!” I must admit that secretly, I was quite happy that those dumb key fobs hadn’t arrived because I always enjoyed our conversations.  Funny – I never asked their names – we just enjoyed being with each other.

That was July and August – now it’s December and last week, those key fobs finally arrived. As soon as I unpacked them, I smiled and put two aside; it was time for me to take a little visit to see these two people. I knew they lived on the camp grounds about ten kilometers away so yesterday, I wrapped the little present, wrote a card and drove to the Fair Havens property.

I went to reception and said, ” I don’t know their names but I’m looking for a beautiful older couple who live on this property.” Immediately, the receptionist smiled and replied, “You’re looking for the Stevensons”….and then there was a heavy silence.

“Did you know that John passed away this Fall?”

My heart sank.

“..but Ruth is here and I know she would like to see you. I’ll go get her.”

I felt such a sadness as I waited. I was close to tears, trying to keep it together. A couple of minutes later, Ruth came walking down the hall. She saw me and her eyes lit up.

She hugged me tightly and said, “I came into the store a couple of times after John died so that I could talk to you but you weren’t there and I didn’t know your name.”

I couldn’t hold it together anymore and the tears starting flowing. Ruth held my hand and said, “Come and sit with me.”

We went into her office and Ruth proceeded to tell me how John had died.  

We were getting ready to go out and suddenly, John leaned over, put his hand on my shoulder and quietly said, “I’m going home, Ruth.”

John died of heart failure. He was 89 years old.

“But let me tell you about his life celebration evening. About a week before John died, our son had received a new camera and was practising how to use to video. He asked John to say something as he began to record.  John stood up and waved. He said, ‘Good Morning, everyone.  Hope you’re all doing well.  The weather is very nice here.’

Well, we kept that recording and on the morning of his funeral, the pastor started the service by saying, “We have a very special greeting for you this morning…

…and there was John on the big screen, welcoming everyone with his beautiful smile and telling everyone about the weather in heaven. It made everyone laugh and cry. It was a glorious time.  

By the way, what’s your name?

I broke into laughter as I formally introduced myself and then I handed Ruth the present.  She opened the bag and smiled.

“Oh, how John liked these things. We always enjoyed coming into the store and talking with you. John would have loved this present. Thank you so much. You’re so thoughtful.”

We exchanged email addresses and Ruth gave me a copy of the life celebration program.

It was a touching moment.

We will definitely keep in touch, now that we know each other’s names! Ruth is coming over for tea soon.

John Stevenson

These were the words printed inside the program. John and Ruth know the glorious hope of heaven.

If you could see where I have gone


Responses

  1. Oh how beautiful!
    Your thoughtfulness, Diane, is a reflection of God’s love for us.
    Bless you.

    • They are beautiful people. I am blessed to know them.

  2. Never knew them personally but heard much about them when we were attending Grace. Lovely people. So glad you could meet them and now have a closer relationship with Ruth.

    • I didn’t realize that they went to Grace! My, what a small world! I’m looking forward to having tea with Ruth in the early new year.

  3. They didn’t go to Grace that I know of – it was more the connections with people at Grace and Fair Havens.

  4. Diane this is truly inspiring. The way you enjoy really getting to know people. You are so very kind. Thank you for sharing this heartfelt story.

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

