Posted by: Diane | November 13, 2013

Flannel Sheets Reminder

I love sleeping with the window wide open but Chris doesn’t so when he’s home, we compromise.  However, when he’s travelling, I take full advantage of his absence, open that bedroom window and jump under the covers to enjoy a very cool room, filled with fresh air and lofty winds that come off the lake. It makes for a painful exit from my bed in the brisk, early morning but it’s well worth it for a wonderful night’s slumber.

I noticed something very interesting this morning.

Flannel sheets are the absolute best in the cold weather.  However, they don’t do their job, independent of covers on top of them. If the bedroom is cool and I’m only lying on and under flannel sheets, it’s freezing. These flannel sheets were never meant to do the full job of keeping me warm in bed but when I put the duvet on top of the flannel sheet, the bed becomes warm and toasty because the flannel sheets acts as an insulator and keeps the warmth in.

As I laid in my bed this morning, battling the temptation to roll over and stay warm rather than get up and start my day, I thought to myself, “this is similar to life” – I was never meant to go through life alone. My own abilities to make life work are limited and if I depend fully on myself, it truly does become unbearable. When I take the duvet off and lie only under the thin flannel sheet, I immediately feel vulnerable – it doesn’t matter what I do, it’s just not enough.  My life is meant to be covered, comforted and controlled by God and what He has done; not by what I do. His death and resurrection is the duvet in my life and my desire is to ultimately be under His containment.

flannel sheets

He will cover you with his feathers. He will shelter you with his wings. His faithful promises are your armor and protection.                                                                                       Psalm 91.4 NLT


Responses

  1. Thanks Diane. A great comparison. Have been meditating on Ephesians 6 this morning. It comes alongside your blog, and complements it. Stay warm, under the protection and warmth of His love, through the power of the Holy Spirit.
    You have seen this before, but I need the reminders continually! Ugh!
    Fondly,
    Barb

    Spiritual Warfare (Ephesians 6), Part 1 of 2
    Nov 13, 2013 04:00 am | Roy

    In spiritual warfare you need to know that…

    The Lord’s power is strengthening you…
    Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. (v 10)

    The enemy’s schemes are confronting you…
    Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. (v 11)

    The Lord’s armor is keeping you…
    Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. (v 11)

    The Lord’s truth is encircling you…
    Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth. (v 14)

    The Lord’s righteousness is covering you…
    Having put on the breastplate of righteousness. (v 14)

    The Lord’s gospel is directing you…
    And having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace. (v 15)

    The Lord’s shield is safeguarding you…
    Above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one. (v 16)

    The Lord’s salvation is protecting you…
    And take the helmet of salvation. (v 17)

    The Lord’s sword is enabling you…
    And the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. (v 17)

    The Lord’s Spirit is aiding you…
    Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit. (v 18)

  2. I can just see you D, cold cheeks, warm heart, covered with the duvet and God’s great Grace! xo CJ


Leave a Reply

Categories

