Posted by: Diane | October 29, 2013

Try A Little Tenderness

I overheard some beautiful tenderness today.

My dentist is a two hour drive away from where we live (I know…that’s a story in itself – just suffice it to say that there is only one dentist and one hygienist in this whole world that I trust my teeth to so I surrender to the long trip twice a year) so I woke up really early this morning and actually had to wipe away frost on the front windshield of my car.  Traffic was flowing well so I got to Toronto really early and sat in the parking lot of the clinic for a while.

Five minutes later, a big school bus filled with children, came chugging into the parking lot and stopped about twenty feet away from my car. I could hear all the children singing, “Happy Birthday to Gillian….Happy Birthday to you.” The bus door swung open and one by one, the children hugged a young girl sitting in a car seat behind the bus driver. Then they exited the bus and made a big circle in the parking lot. When the circle was complete, the bus driver picked up the child in the car seat and came out of the bus behind the teacher. One of the students walked up to the bus driver, put a wrapped gift into the girl’s hand and said, “This is for you from all of us because we love you, Gillian.”

I could see that that the young girl had some kind of disability and the bus driver was cradling her very delicately. Then he spoke – his voice was trembling but he had a big smile on his face and he said –

“Thank you so much for making this a special birthday for my little girl. Gillian and I really appreciate it. Gillian may be blind, deaf and unable to walk but she knows love when she receives it. Now you all go and have a fun time on your field trip.”

I just sat in the car and wept. I was so thankful for overhearing and overseeing this beautiful moment – it really made my day.

Such tenderness.

Finally, all of you, have unity of mind, sympathy, brotherly love, a tender heart, and a humble mind.                                                                                                                                1 Peter 3.8 ESV

tenderness


Responses

  1. Oh Diane. What a picture you created. How precious! God bless those children for being such a blessing to Gillian and her Dad. I have a feeling you weren’t the only one crying! 😄


Leave a Reply

Categories

