Posted by: Diane | October 23, 2013

Seeking Balance

It’s that sense of being unbalanced…misaligned.

When I’m not filling my mind with God’s truth, my thoughts gets filled with something else. I was thinking about the Pharisees this morning because for them, the scriptures had ceased to be a form of revelation.  I do believe that the word manipulation better describes their use of the sacred texts.

I do not want reading and studying the Bible to become a legalistic chore in my day.  I do not want it to be a mere “part of my daily routine.” I don’t want it to be routine at all. 

Jesus said to the Pharisees, You diligently study the Scriptures because you think that by them you possess eternal life: These are the Scriptures that testify about me, yet you refuse to come to me to have life. (John 5. 39-40) The Pharisees totally missed the point. They missed the hope and the joy of Truth Himself. The Pharisees couldn’t see Jesus because they were too busy plotting their own way. There was drivenness, but no delight.

I believe that the Bible is a book that reveals to us who God is and how we can enter into and maintain a relationship with Him through Jesus Christ – and in that truth alone, there is purpose and freedom. Finding that balance between the intentional self discipline of reading the Word of God and the spontaneous joy of uncovering it’s bountiful treasures is difficult for me…but I definitely know when I’m misaligned…

…and ultimately, the answer is to intentionally make time to read His Word with an attitude of expectation.

I meditate on your precepts and consider your ways. I delight in your decrees: I will not neglect your word. Psalm 119. 15,16 NIV

You own the skies..


Leave a Reply

Categories

