Posted by: Diane | October 22, 2013

A Jam-Packed Calendar

This morning, I decided to wrap myself in blankets and head down to the waterfront to read my bible.  I thought this would be a good way to take time and appreciate both the beauty of the Word of God AND the lofty waves.

All I can say is that I’m glad no one saw me. I don’t think that there would be another person on this earth who would be so crazy as to actually WANT to sit outside in that monsoon…and it was freezing cold too! There were white caps  crashing on the water and the blast of wind was so forceful, it was actually tearing the thin pages of my Bible.  I gave it my best shot but when I had to chase one of my blankets across the neighbour’s lawn, I surrendered to the elements. I waddled back into the house and planted myself by the propane heater, which had started up itself because the house was so cold.

I had to laugh at myself but my intentions were good.

Once I could feel my toes again, I plunked myself on the couch with a warm cup of tea and opened my Bible.

Last night, as I tossed and turned in bed, I thought of a verse that I memorized years ago. The apostle, Paul was exhorting the Colossian church to “let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.” (Colossians 3.16)

I asked myself, “What does it mean to let the word of Christ dwell in you richly?…and then I fell asleep.

This morning, as I sipped my chai tea, I thought of Jean Fleming’s wise words again.

The Amplified Bible translates Luke 2.19 this way: But Mary was keeping within herself all these things, (sayings) weighing and pondering them in her heart.  I think Mary gives us a model of what it means to let the word of Christ dwell in you richly. Her practice of pondering is typical of Hebrew thought patterns, which are circular, in contrast to Greek thought patterns, which are linear. Her thought patterns would look more like ascending a spiral staircase (always finding larger and more splendid rooms) than filling out an outline. She would rotate through the same ideas over and over again, gaining insights as she gave them another turn.” 

I realized that one of the reasons that I am struggling with delighting in the Word is that I am spreading myself too thinly – my days are full of “good” but I’m missing “best.”  Lately, I haven’t made time to sit at the feet of Jesus and rest. I’m busy, busy, busy and I can’t ponder at this pace.

Something has to go.

busy calender

Blessed the man, blessed the woman, who listens to me, awake and ready for me each morning, alert and responsive as I start my day’s work. When you find me, you find life, real life, to say nothing of God’s good pleasure. Proverbs 8. 34 The Message


Responses

  1. Hi Diane
    I like this blog as I am feeling the same way. I want to eat more of God’s Words! Like yesterday, we talked about being so busy all the time. This is one of the reasons why I resigned ASL club as a founder and Deaf Biker Club as a treasurer. I hate being lukewarm! I love you for being so …what is the word?? like being crazy!! You think I m crazy too when I was talking about dipping in the lake in Nov to break the record! ha

    • I’m starting to read Psalm 119…slowly…and every verse has to do with the Word of God.
      …and I actually do believe that you would be crazy enough to go swimming in this weather!! 🙂

  2. Thank you again Diane. In a little book,”40 Days With Jesus”, a friend gave me, I read the following this morning.
    (Reading and meditating on the Word, is always so precious to me, but the enemy constantly steals my time, so is controlling me and that has to stop. All I am saying, is that I totally agree!) Sending a hug!
    Barb

    Jesus Calling by Sarah Young
    March 19

    I SPEAK TO YOU FROM THE DEPTHS OF YOUR BEING. Hear Me saying soothing words of Peace, assuring you of My Love. Do not listen to voices of accusation, for they are not from Me. I speak to you in love-tones, lifting you up. My Spirit convicts cleanly, without crushing words of shame. Let the Spirit take charge of your mind, combing out tangles of deception. Be transformed by the truth that I live within you.

    The Light of My Presence is shining upon you, in benedictions of Peace. Let My Light shine in you; don’t dim it with worries or fears. Holiness is letting Me live through you. Since I dwell in you, you are fully equipped to be holy. Pause before responding to people or situations, giving My Spirit space to act through you. Hasty words and actions leave no room for Me; this is atheistic living. I want to inhabit all your moments—gracing your thoughts, words, and behavior.

    Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death.

    ROMANS 8 : 1 – 2

    To them God has chosen to make known among the Gentiles the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.

    COLOSSIANS 1 : 27

    Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own.

    1 CORINTHIANS 6 : 19

    Young, Sarah (2004-10-12). Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace in His Presence (p. 83).

    • Thanks, Barb. Much appreciated…as always. Diane

  3. Feeling similarly – being retired sure doesn’t mean doing nothing. Too many projects on the go and feeling guilty when they don’t get done in my time frame or when saying “no” to requests from others. A wise pastor’s wife (whom we both had once) said “Not every call from God, is a call for YOU.” Time to sit back and reflect.

    I hope it’s just my computer screen and I can’t see the dot, otherwise that’s one expensive mug you’re buying. 🙂

    • Thanks for the wise words, Anne…and no, it’s not an expensive mug! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

