Posted by: Diane | October 21, 2013

The Loss Of Delight

When Chris and I first moved to this home, I was mesmerized by the sound and the beauty of the water.  We spent hours playing in the waves that first summer and during the winter, we constantly stood by the window and watched the lake freeze and the wind blow huge snow drifts across the ice. As the seasons unfolded, each time I caught a glimpse of the majestic outstretch of endless water and ice, it took my breath away.

It’s been three years since we moved here and the beauty of the water still thrills me at times, especially when the wind is pounding the waves or a fresh coat of snow blankets the ice. But I have to confess – some days, I don’t even notice it. I don’t make the time to stop by the back window as often. Sometimes, it takes an awestruck out-of-town visitor to remind me of the soothing rhythms of the waves or simply, the allurement of this vast body of water outside my back door.

The lake has not changed – its beauty has remained constant.

I have changed. Living by the water has become, “same old”…and this disturbs me.

This morning, as I reached for my Bible, I had a “moment.”  I was struck with the truth that lately, I have approached the Word of God the same way. For the past 40 years, I have read, studied, heard, memorized and applied the Bible but lately, I’ve become indifferent to its beauty, simplicity and power…and this greatly disturbs me.

I remember the days when I could not get enough of the Word of God – this happened when I first became a Christian and also during very painful seasons in my life. I spent hours reading, praying over, writing about and pondering the scriptures.  I changed because I was rooted and built up in Him, strengthened in the faith and overflowing with thankfulness. (Colossians 2.6,7)

I miss that kind of intimacy with God.

Years ago, I heard Jean Fleming speak and she challenged me greatly when she claimed that “The believer’s life is the intended home, the settled abode, for the Word of God.” This morning, I am asking myself some tough questions about my attitude and apathy towards the holy scriptures. To be honest, for the first time in three years and over 1000 posts, blogging daily has become very difficult for the past two weeks because I am stretching and struggling to see God in my days.   He’s there – He hasn’t changed – but I have rushed by Him in the morning, determined to get through my plans for the day.

This morning, I read a passage of scripture in 2 Samuel that deeply affected me and so my prayer today is, “Let us (me) fall into the hands of the Lord, for His mercy is great.” (2 Samuel 24.14)

Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in your law.  Psalm 119.18

my conscience


Responses

  1. Oh the ebb and flow of life. We are like the seasons, ever changing, but in this circle we come back again to Spring… Ready to be nurtured, taught, and to be delighted in His teaching. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Your faith is not built on feelings, but in the knowing of whose you are. Rest in The Lord.
    Hugs. Kathy

    • Very true, Kathy – my faith is not built on feelings, rather, it’s based on what I know is truth. When God gets my attention in the very clear way that He did this morning, I want to listen, learn, slow down and turn to His Word for refreshment.

  2. Amen.

  3. Thanks Diane for again being honest and transparent, listening to that still small voice of God, the Holy Spirit convicting of ( dare I say it?) sin. I only say it, because it’s me too. Lately I have allowed circumstances of life to rob me of my precious time alone with God, not that I don’t read my Bible and pray, but like you say, really delving into the Word to grow in relationship with the Almighty God. I don’t like myself then, and I do take some of God’s blessings for granted. I wonder why my attitude isn’t great????

    What a comfort to know ” the blood of Jesus Christ, God’s Son still cleanses me from all sin.” He constantly welcomes me back, and I start off again, with a new willingness to grow deep into His truths thus being rooted and grounded , to walk in a deeper knowledge of the Holy One. Col. 2: 6,and 7 is one of my favorite passages .

    Bless you Diane, for speaking truth to me, tonight. Guess that’s why I can’t sleep! Maybe now I will.😄

    Love
    Barb

    • Thanks, Barb. It’s uncomfortable to take a look at negative patterns in our life but it’s also the beginning of doing something about it. Hope you were able to sleep last night!


Leave a Reply

Categories

