Posted by: Diane | October 9, 2013

Until God Opens The Next Door…

It’s a bit of a down day for me – I’m sure it’s partly the low after the high of speaking for three days. This particular speaking commitment involved many hours of studying and writing, prayer and practice, three full days of relating to many women, speaking and meeting with women individually (all of which I thoroughly enjoyed) – and now, it’s back to reality.

Sometimes, reality hits hard, doesn’t it?

It’s tempting to let my day morph into a free flow of feelings that take me over and pull me down but as I have gotten older, I’ve learned to give my discouragement its five minutes in the sun and then intentionally make time to speak truth to myself.

There’s a big section in my journals and a file in my emails, entitled, “REMIND ME AGAIN” and that’s where I go on days like this.  Sometimes, I go kicking and screaming…sometimes I saunter…sometimes I run…but the important thing is that I go

I need the Word of God to fill me and refill me…every day of my life. I won’t make it without Him.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him and he will make straight your paths.                       Proverbs 3.5,6

You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you. Isaiah 26.3

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit, you may abound in hope.                                                                    Romans 15.13

Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.                                 1 Corinthians 15.58 

Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a desire fulfilled is a tree of life.           Proverbs 13.12

These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.                                                                                                                                        John 15.11

These days, I feel like I’m in limbo – I’m not sure where to go next with my book writing. I’ve talked to enough writers to know that disappointment and discouragement is very much part of the journey so I’m not going to quit –  but I do need to take some time, to wait on God.

unless God opens the next door for you


Responses

  1. I LOVE that you have a folder, I just try the “head think” thing when I’m in THAT place. It doesn’t always work. Thanks for the tip and the beautiful reminders of TRUTH. Nothin’ better than that. Praying you are moved to a higher place today, my friend.

    >

  2. Julie Andrews says that ‘when God closes a door, He opens a window’…I pray the God will open that window for you my friend and lead you into the next phase of your life. xo ‘Mrs. B.’


Leave a Reply

Categories

