Posted by: Diane | October 1, 2013

Gently Challenged, Poised To Learn

A couple of days ago, Chris and I were brainstorming about how to make it easier for readers to find certain posts that I have written in the past. Chris is the computer guy and I am…well….not the computer gal. I know what I need to know to write, blog and email but since I have such a talented, resourceful husband who can figure out computer things so masterfully, I must admit that I tend to sit back and let him do his thing.

Chris was sitting at the kitchen table and I had very nonchalantly slipped into the next room so that I could jump on the elliptical machine and work out for an hour.

It was perfect – Chris was absorbed in things of a technical nature and I was free of all ties to my laptop.

Suddenly, I head Christ yell out, “Hey, you can create a tag cloud widget so you can search by tags!” 

I could tell by his voice that he was very excited about this discovery. However, as I got off the elliptical machine and walked into the kitchen with my “feigned interest look”,  I truly felt that I had entered another country and Chris was talking a foreign language. I had absolutely no idea what he was saying and to be honest, it didn’t really matter to me.

From Chris’ perspective, he patiently began to explain the term,“tag cloud widget.” I beg to differ – Chris thought he was patiently explaining but there was this obvious frustration in his voice which I decided to address. I’m glad I did…sort of.

Apparently, I don’t have a very good attitude when it comes to learning technical “stuff.”

I admit – It’s definitely not a strength of mine and I don’t pretend otherwise however, indubitably, there is a pattern in my expectations that Chris will do the work.

Chris continued – “It’s like you don’t really care and you assume I’ll always figure this stuff out for you but I get really tired explaining the most basic of things to you. You gotta’ put more effort into this, Diane. “

Now, in my humble opinion, “cutting and pasting” is a better example of “the most basic of things” when it comes to computers and I want to assure you that I’ve mastered those skills. “Tag cloud widgets” on the other hand, are a whole other ballgame…. but that’s not the point.

What I got out of Chris’ comment was this: the “It’s just the way I am” attitude doesn’t cut it.

We all have different strengths and weaknesses but it’s not realistic or wise to think that we can avoid doing the things that we are not naturally gifted in. I do depend on Chris too much when it comes to getting technical stuff done and I do need to change my attitude about it.  OUCH!

It’s all about being a life long learner, isn’t it?  Learning facts, learning character, learning love.

It was Albert Einstein that said, “Once you stop learning, you start dying.”

Let the wise hear and increase in learning, and the one who understands obtains guidance. Proverb 1.5 ESV

An intelligent heart acquires knowledge, and the ear of the wise seeks knowledge.  Proverbs 18.15 ESV


Responses

  1. Diane, this is so true. I’m the same as you when it comes to technical things and I just trance out when that skill is required. However, Ross and I just got back from Scotland and we had a rented car with a complicated GPS unit. IF we were going to get anywhere, it had to figured out and it couldn’t be Ross because he had his hands full driving on the “wrong” side of the road. Know what?—after a couple of days I actually could work the thing because I made myself think in an area I in which I
    would previously been have zoned out. We often limit ourselves.


Leave a Reply

Categories

