Posted by: Diane | September 23, 2013

Laughing at Yourself, Laughing at Life

 

(This is a repost)

Here’s a chuckle to start your week.

I had an eight hour shift at smallMart on Saturday. The shift started at 9:00 a.m. so I arrived about 8:45 a.m., thinking that I might have an early morning balloon order to finish. I’ve gotten into an “opening store” routine so I went about my business, sweeping the outside windows, turning lights on, opening the cash, etc.  I opened the front doors at 9:00 a.m. and let in the small group of early morning shoppers.  I then proceeded to walk to the back of the store, out the door and into the hallway so that I could turn the bathroom light on.

My mind wasn’t fully engaged yet, so as I headed to the bathroom, the store door closed behind me and yes….I got locked out of the store.

There I was, stuck in the hallway, without a key.

I didn’t panic – I just started humbly yelling through the door, ” Excuse me, if you can hear me, can you let me back into the store? Excuse me, my name is Diane. I work in the store and I just locked myself out.”

Well, wouldn’t you know it, the woman customer who heard me yelling had quite the sense of humor.

She replied, “Well, I don’t know who you are and I certainly can’t trust you. I’m just heading out of the store now, with a cart full of stuff….must be about $100.00 worth of items.  Here I go. I’m heading out now and I’m telling everybody in the store that this is their chance to take whatever they want and run! “

Silence. Well…not quite silence – I heard the cart wheels squeaking as they rolled away.

I felt helpless.  I sat down on a big package of paper towels and started to think about all the money I was going to have to pay back the owner of the store for the stolen property.

Suddenly, the door swung open and knocked me off the paper towel mountain.

“Hah! Had you worried, didn’t I?” The woman customer was smiling.

I had to laugh.  I love when you laugh so hard, you make no sound at all.

I’m thankful that I had a funny moment because that was the beginning of a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day at work – disgruntled dry cleaning customers, dysfunctional balloons, long line ups, spilled pop, rude little kids and well…it was just a VERY long day.

You gotta’ grab on to those light moments in your day. It’s important to be able to laugh at yourself and remember – there’s something very special about a happy heart.

a happy heart

Share this:


Leave a Reply

Categories

