Posted by: Diane | September 19, 2013

What’s Important And What’s Not

collect moments, not things

Wise, wise words.

The first collection that I can vividly remember was my T- shirt collection. I didn’t bring a dresser to my dorm room in second year university so a massive heap of brightly colored and well used T-shirts were piled up on the floor, at the end of my bed. The collection was definitely a topic of conversation when my friends tried to find a place to sit down in my room and ended up perched on the edge of   T-shirt mountain.

When I became a mom, collections seemed to become very important to me – ask my kids. I thought I was collecting memories but instead I was just accumulating junk.

I was recently rummaging around the storage room and I found my daughter’s erasers and button collections, as well as my son’s nutcracker collection. I say that all these collections belonged to my kids but they started any of them – it was me who did all the collecting. I remember the containers full of napkins and coasters from all over the world, the boxes of meticulously wrapped and protected music boxes, the Dickens Village figurines that we used to buy the day after Christmas when they were 50% off, the spoons that were proudly displayed in my kitchen, all the gymnastic leotards that my daughters competed in, Dawne’s cow collection and Danae’s pig collection…and the list goes on.

Fast forward to  2013 and none of those collections mean anything to anyone in our family. I spent a lot of money on these things over the years and I’ve spent the last ten years getting rid of it all. I thought I had finally freed myself of all this stuff when Chris and I gave away my gigantic snowman collection as “thank-you” gifts at our wedding but no…here are the erasers, the buttons and the boxes of nutcrackers still hiding in the storage room.

I think my motives were decent back in the day – I mean, I thought that all these things meant something significant and I also thought my children would appreciate these trinkets when they had their old children – but now, the old boxes are mildewy and there’s mice poop all over the erasers and buttons. I’m afraid to open all the nutcracker boxes because who knows what I’ll find there! We’ve talked about trying to sell all the nutcrackers online – Drew would much prefer the money.

Anyone interested in a whole bunch of nutcrackers??

What a foolish thing I did when I was younger – I collected things that didn’t matter.

These days, I make a point of NOT collecting anything. My husband would say that I collect tea but that’s not true. People know I like tea so they bring it as gifts and yes, the cupboard is filled with it but it was never my intention to accumulate so much tea.

Now I don’t tell anyone what I like because I’m afraid another collection will start.

These days, I am very intentional about becoming free from that which does not matter.

My life in Christ matters. People matter.

so fill your heart with

And he said to them, “Take care, and be on your guard against all covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions. Luke 12.15 ESV

And he answered, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind, and your neighbour as yourself.”  Luke 10.27 ESV

 


Responses

  1. PS. The “Hope” shelf is full now too.

  2. Gee whiz. Anyone interacted in a collection of about 2000 salt and pepper sets? We’ve already spent $400 on having a friend photograph them . They were my husband’s mom’s….

    • Oh, me..me! I love collections! Tee, hee!
      You’re on your own with those salt and pepper shakers, sis!


Leave a Reply

Categories

