Posted by: Diane | September 18, 2013

Hemingway’s Perspective

Boy, can I relate to THIS quote!

there is nothing to writing...all you do..

I’ve certainly had a taste of what Ernest Hemingway so eloquently describes as the reality of writing. I made the decision three years ago to stop teaching and start writing. Many friends and blog readers have inquired about my writing so I wanted to let you know where I am in the process.

I completed my first manuscript: OVERFLOW! – Reconnecting Older and Younger Women, based on my experience and concern with existing womens’ ministries. I’ve always had difficulty “fitting in” to the womens’ ministries offered at the churches that I’ve attended so, three years ago, I began to experiment with a group called OVERFLOW!, which currently consists of fifteen women, ages 16- 63 years. We have been meeting faithfully every six weeks for three years and experiencing the wonderful, creative, life-giving dynamics that are possible between multigenerational women…and we’ve been having a great time too! The manuscript explains the why, when, how, what and whether of OVERFLOW! and it was completed over a year ago but has since been rejected by two big publishing companies so I’m at a stand still at this point.  Do I self publish? Do I try smaller publishing companies? Do I try Canadian publishing companies? I’m not sure what the next step is.  I’m totally convinced that this biblical, unique and dynamic grouping of women works but I think I might have to go back to the drawing board, in terms of writing about it. I’ve been told many times that writing a book is all about rewriting…and rewriting. This was my first manuscript and I realize that it needs some changes.

Meanwhile, back in December, 2010, I started a daily blog because when I began asking questions about writing a book, I was quickly told that I HAD to have a web presence.  I wasn’t on Facebook, I didn’t have a newsletter, I wasn’t interested in going on Twitter, I had no blog and I didn’t have a website – it sounded like I was doomed!  I was completely naive about what to do but since I love telling stories, I chose to blog. It has been humbling to see that this blog has grown and is now being read in 120 countries. I really had no idea what I was doing when I started and I’m so thankful that I have this platform to write about “Jesus in my days.” 

I am about 2/3 way through a second manuscript called, The Hide and Seek, Find and Funny Times of an All Grown Up Woman. I should be finished with this manuscript by Christmas and I need to start looking for a publisher.

I’m learning day by day, how incredibly difficult it is to write, market and publish a book! To be honest, there have been moments that I have felt like giving up but I believe that I’m in the right place, doing the right thing, so I continue to persevere…

…but it is indeed hard work so I am going to take a break next week, from Monday, September 23rd to the 29th. I have a number of speaking commitments in the next month so I decided to take a week to do some intense preparation and some quiet reflection. Next week, I will be posting some of my blogs that people have particularly enjoyed in the past, so stay tuned!

I will carry on with new posts, beginning on Monday, September 30th.

I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.  John 15.5. ESV

abide_branch

 

 


Responses

  1. It was so great seeing you yesterday. I totally think you should persevere- it’s inspiring! I personally love your postings. Funny, real, emotional and yes, at times, bleeding. Finish that race, you amazing woman! S xo

  2. 120 countries! So wonderful to be spreading “Jesus in your day” with so many people 🙂 keep writing and re-writing lady, you have been given a wonderful gift! Thanks for sharing daily xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

