Posted by: Diane | September 11, 2013

My Day’s Lesson

I was walking out of our local grocery store this afternoon and met Joey, who was patting the head of a big, ceramic dog.

talking to the dog at Independent

Joey’s mother was to the left of the picture, paying for groceries and I just couldn’t help but get into a conversation with this little guy, while mom was finishing up.

There is nothing like a child’s imagination…or so I thought. The conversation went like this:

Diane: Hi! What’s your name?

Joey: My name is Joey and this is my dog but I’m sad because he’s sad because a brick fell on his head and now there’s a big hole in his head (this was the slot in which people put coins, to support Guide Dogs for the Blind) and I think he’s dizzy. That’s why he’s not moving much. 

Diane: You like patting the dog’s head, don’t you? 

Joey nodded his head and smiled.

I know this dog loves me and I’m being gentle with his boo-boo. I’m going to ask mommy if I can put him in the cart and take him home and he can live under our house.

Joey continued to pat the dog on his head very gently and his mom eventually approached the two of us.

Diane:  Hi! I was just talking to Joey about this dog. He wants to take him home.

Mom had a very solemn look on her face and asked me, “Did Joey tell you that a brick fell on the dog’s head?”

Diane:  Actually, he did. 

Mom: I thought soJoey’s dad was helping a friend build an outdoor fireplace a couple of weeks ago and a brick fell on his head and knocked him out. He’s still in the hospital and he has a deep cut on his head that unfortunately got quite infected. 

Diane: I’m so sorry to hear that.  I hope I didn’t upset Joey by talking to him. 

Mother: Oh, no – we come to this store every day because Joey likes to pat the dog’s head. He says he wants to help his daddy get better. We pray together every morning about his daddy but Joey just feels better when he can rub the dog’s head.

Diane: You’re bringing up a very compassionate little boy. 

Mother:  Thank you. We need more compassion in this world, don’t we? You have a great evening. 

Diane:  Thanks, You too.  Bye, Joey! 

Joey smiled, took his mom’s hand and headed out to the parking lot. What did his life teach me today? Live compassion.

“Hug the hurt, kiss the broken, befriend the lost, love the lonely.” –  Lessons learned in life.

Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness and patience.  Colossians 3.12 ESV

 


Responses

  1. What a beautiful encounter. Compassion. Approachability. Trust. Understanding. Availability. A listening ear. Beautiful:))

  2. Beautifully written, wonderful reminder….sending prayers for the little guys daddy…

  3. Another great story Diane…you certainly don’t have to look far to find someone who needs our prayers and compassion. Thanks for sharing these experiences with us….gives us something to think about as we begin our day. xoxo ‘Mrs. B.’

  4. Did you miss a chance to take the little boy’s money while he was distracted?


Leave a Reply

Categories

