Posted by: Diane | September 10, 2013

Fall’s A’Comin’…

This past Sunday and Monday, Chris and I went on a mini getaway with some wonderful neighbours. We packed our bikes and headed out for a yummy picnic lunch, two delightful days of fun and frolic, one delicious dinner, a restful stay at a marvellous hotel (thanks again, Chris…for those hotel points you rack up with all your travelling) and two challenging bike rides (no one warned us that the Muskokas are synonymous with non-ending rolling hills! – as soon as you coast down one, you have to pedal like mad up the next!)

The equinox will officially bring autumn on September 22, 2013 at 4:44 PM in Canada but I’m feeling the coolness already…and welcoming it with open arms! I thought the changing leaf colors would beckon me into the all season this past weekend but instead, this is what caught my attention while we stopped for gas near a grocery store. This was the moment that reminded me that fall is but a breath away.

Gravenhurst-20130909-00649

When I saw that turkey, those colorful leaves and the cartoon piece of pumpkin pie, topped with a dollop of whipped cream, my heart started to pitter-patter. Oh, how I LOVE the fall! Crisp air, long walks, big sweaters, beautiful waves in the lake and…talking about the lake… Chris and I just had to jump in the boat tonight, head out into the middle of the lake and enjoy what very well might have been, our last outdoor swim for the season. The water was chilly – but oh, so refreshing – and floating quietly on the noodles, watching the glorious sunset, is definitely one of my favourite things to do with Chris. It was a great way to close out the summer – even though it’s not officially closed yet.

Yet, what a surprise that this afternoon, autumn caught me in my shorts and sandals once again. I was reminded of a little ditty I learned a while back by Sarah Morgan Bryan Piatt –

It is the summer’s great last heat;

It is the fall’s first chill: They meet.

Hopefully, this will be last of the heat waves and we will truly blast into autumn…

but I couldn’t wait any longer in the kitchen – I had to decorate the table!

 Autumn has arrived

Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it and if I were a bird,I would fly about the earth, seeking the successful autumns. George Elliot

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

