Posted by: Diane | August 29, 2013

More Is Never Enough

I was driving to an appointment this morning and listening to Christian radio. I heard these lyrics – “everyone wants everyone else’s everything…” and immediately, I was drawn to this song by the group, Sanctus Real. The song is called Things Like You – it’s a great song with some powerful lyrics and a challenging message.

Loving things like you has wrecked my life, made me cry
Loving things like you has made me lose my mind
And I can’t figure out why I’ve been hanging on
To all these things I’ve tried to leave behind me for so long

And I think it’s time to find a better way to live my life
Than loving all those things that keep me wrapped so tight

‘Cause everyone wants everyone else’s everything
Sometimes the more we have the less we really gain
And I’m tired of life and all that money has to buy
Get out of my heart, out of my mind, leaving you behind
Get out of my heart, out of my mind, leaving you behind

Loving things like you has left me bruised, black and blue
Loving things like you has made me so confused
And I can’t figure out what I’ve been waiting on
God, I can’t be living life for things I know are wrong

Now I think it’s time to write a better chapter in my life
Leaving all those things that keep me wrapped so tight

‘Cause everyone wants everyone else’s everything
Sometimes the more we have the less we really gain
And I’m tired of life and all that money has to buy
Get out of my heart, out of my mind, leaving you behind

Why are we obsessed with possessions here on earth?
Go and take a look at the flowers and the birds
God is always taking care of nature’s every need
And how much more important in the Father’s eyes are we?
I said, “How much more important in the Father’s eyes are we?”
He sees everything

Everyone wants everyone else’s everything
Sometimes the more we have the less we really gain
And I’m tired of life and all that money has to buy
Get you out of my heart, out of my mind, leaving you behind
Get you out of my heart, out of my mind, leaving you behind
Out of my heart, out of my mind, leaving you behind

_____________________________________________________________

I think contentment is about retraining your mind to process life as it is, rather than how you think it could be if you had more. I was in a grocery store recently and I overheard a delightful conversation between three generations of women. The mother asked the child, “What do you want?” and then the grandmother quietly said to the mother, “Honey, why don’t you ask her if she’s thankful for what she already has? See what she says.”

Wise words. I love the shift in perspective.

Someone once said that the secret to having it all is wanting less. We can actively practise contentment in just about any situation we find ourselves in but we need to be cognitive of the thoughts that flit through our mind, without challenge.  For example, I spent the morning with a woman whom I’m mentoring through the process of writing and presenting speeches at the Toastmaster meetings. As we walked towards her kitchen, I looked out the back window and saw her sailboat and jet-ski parked on the waterfront.  These words just blurted out of my mouth, without any thought. “Oh, I would just love to own a jet ski.” Immediately, I realized what I had said and I quickly continued with, “But I am so thankful for the fact that I can live on the water. It’s wonderful, isn’t it?”

I’m not saying that I’m always successful with this “practising contentment” thing but I’m very aware of it. Dean Jackson says, “Contentment is not out there at some other place under some other circumstances. Contentment is being fully present and grateful in any place at any time under any circumstances.”

There’s a great idiom that goes something like this – A contented mind really is a perpetual feast. It sounds like something you would read in Proverbs, doesn’t it? These words are not from the Bible but they are truth…

..and I long for truth in this world that offers so much stuff that just doesn’t last.

Godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world and we can take nothing out of it.  1 Timothy 6.6,7

Give me neither poverty nor riches.  Proverbs 30.8

I will learn to love the skies that I'm under


Responses

  1. Yes, so well put. I think as we mature (age…) we learn to be content in all situations. We go through the highs and lows of life. Through the lows, as we’re climbing up again, we can see the lessons being taught to us and hopefully learned. Not always easy but it is character building.
    Keep up the life lessons, Diane !


Leave a Reply

Categories

