Posted by: Diane | August 23, 2013

Which Way Will Your Days Go?

I have a super long day tomorrow, starting with an eight hour shift at smallMart, followed by a two hour drive to my daughter’s new home to pick up my husband, who is going to be involved yet another day in Part 2 of my daughter’s big move, followed by a two hour drive back home late tomorrow night. This will all be happening after a very long summer of having two out of three of our adult children living with us, plus babysitting little Phoenie for eight weeks…and to be honest, Chris and I are feeling a bit weary. I think we need a very long sleep – say, a couple of days worth!

We know that tomorrow is going to be another long day for us.

So, now it’s all about attitude, isn’t it?

This afternoon, a woman in her 50’s came into smallMart and bought a FOR SALE sign. As I was ringing her in, I asked what she was selling and she told me a very sad story. Her husband had recently left her and she was no longer able to continue with her business at home – she just wasn’t making enough money to support herself.  So, she was selling all her antiques.

I could tell that this decision to give up her business was very painful yet, I could clearly see that she had a strength that pushed her onward and upward.

“It’s all about attitude,” she proclaimed. If I’ve learned anything in my fifty five years of life, it’s about the importance of a good attitude.  I want to show you something that I found on Pinterest a while ago. I carry it around with me all the time.”

This is what she pulled out of her purse to show me.

your days will

I had to smile. It’s so true, isn’t it?

It takes willingness and plain old, self discipline to set your mind and it’s even more difficult to do when you’re weary but once that’s done, your mouth will follow…

…and your day will unfold accordingly.

Set your mind on things above, not on earthly things.  Colossians 3.2 NIV


Responses

  1. Thanks Diane. I must confess that I know only too well the truth of what you are saying. I needed this reminder today.” As a man thinks in his heart so is he.”
    Today, another busy day for me , as all the summer has been, I tried to focus on Jesus, and do everything as unto Him. It did help me to get through it with a not too bad attitude. Interestingly that you and I are on the sane wavelength! Happens a lot! 😄
    Blessings on your day tomorrow,
    Let us know how it goes . I’ll be praying for you.
    Barb❤


Leave a Reply

Categories

