Posted by: Diane | August 17, 2013

God’s Promises

I’ve never heard this verse before.

For all the promises of God find their Yes in him. That is why it is through him that we utter our Amen to God for his glory. 2 Corinthians 1.20

It’s an amazing verse.  Think about it – every promise that God has made will be fulfilled – it’s a YES in Him. I find that really comforting.

I just happened to be listening to James McDonald yesterday, while I was driving to the train station, to pick up my son.  He started his sermon with this verse and I was mesmerized with its truth. James McDonald made the following points:

1. GOD IS A PROMISER.

A promise is an assurance that God gives His people as they walk in faith and wait for Him to work.

2. GOD WANTS US TO TEST HIS PROMISES.

He gave the analogy that in the winter, the ice is thickest in the deepest part of the lake.  You would think it would be thicker by the shore but it’s not. He said that God wants us to get out on the ice, in the middle of the lake and test His promises.

3. GOD’S PROMISES ARE ACTIVATED BY OUR FAITH.

This is where James challenges his audience about claiming the promises of God. If you don’t know His promises, you can’t live by them.

4. GOD’S PROMISES ARE EXPERIENCED IN JESUS.

I remember a few times in my life when I had nothing BUT the promises of God to hold onto and as painful as these seasons were, they were also the most intimate times with Jesus. I’ve read my journals –  I clung onto Truth when everything around me was unsure. David Nicholas wrote, “God’s promises really are like the stars – the darker the night, the brighter they shine.”

God makes a promise.

Faith believes it.

Hope anticipates it.

Patience awaits it.

God is faithful and He will fulfill every promise  – all His promises find their YES in Him.

I came across an excellent resource for focusing on one of God’s promises every day.  Take a look at it – it’s called 365Promises.com.

believe God's promises


Leave a Reply

Categories

