Posted by: Diane | August 14, 2013

Remember Why, Remember When

A few evenings ago, I ran down to the waterfront to pick up all the floating toys and water shoes left on the grass from a fun time with friends. Despite my mission to put everything away quickly and efficiently, I stopped and looked up at the sunset. I’m really glad I took the time to do so – the colors were magnificent. The vibrant pink color radiated from the thick blanket of blue that lay heavily in the sky.

sunsetAug2013

This is where we live.  We get to soak up all these beautiful sunsets outside our back door every evening and the spirited colors continue to provide the inspiration for my ridiculously long and thick, crocheted sunset blanket. (I’ve added another month of sunset colors since this picture was taken – five months to go!)

These majestic sunsets are one of the reasons that Chris and I moved here. When I took the time to recall this tit bit of information, a flood of love-filled memories came to me.

Once in a while, it’s wise to take time to remember why we made the decisions we made. It’s not about second guessing or getting down on ourselves. It’s about honestly reflecting on the reasons we decided to do what we did or didn’t do. It’s about clarifying. It’s about learning from our decisions and decision-making processes.

Once in a while, it’s wise to stop and ask yourself questions like:

Why did I marry this person?

Why did I have children?

Why did  I choose this particular job?

Why did I treat that person badly?

Why do I give financially at church?

Why did I start going to church?

Why did we buy this house?

Why didn’t I pursue that particular friendship?

I’m a “why” person so asking questions comes pretty naturally to me. In fact, on most days, my husband limits me to about ten “why” questions before he needs a break from the intensity but he too, sees the value of asking, thinking and digging a little deeper.

If we are to grow in our relationship with God and men, if we are to understand ourselves better, we need to grow as inquisitive creatures. The gospels record about 175 questions asked by Jesus. Inquiries pervaded His ministry and I am always amazed by how masterfully He uses questions to teach vital spiritual truths.

Take a look at the questions that Jesus asked.

It’s good to ask questions. We are to “remember when” and “remember why” and we can confidently move forward from there. Someone once said, “Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching.

Immediately, Jesus knew in his spirit that this was what they were thinking in their hearts, and he said to them, “Why are you thinking these things?” Mark 2.8


Leave a Reply

Categories

