Posted by: Diane | August 13, 2013

The “High Seas” Camp

Phoenie started attending a “High Seas” themed Vacation Bible School (VBS) at a local church this week.  He was very willing to go because he had such a great time at the VBS that our church put on early in July. When I picked him up yesterday, he was a very happy camper and was particularly excited that he had earned some “sea money,” which he could spend on the last day of camp. He was strategizing in the back seat about how he could earn more sea dollars during the week and I suggested that he bring a friend to camp.  Immediately, he thought of his good friend, Kelvin. As soon as he got home, he raced to Kelvin’s house to tell him all about the camp.

Kelvin decided he wanted to give camp a try, so we picked him up this morning. The back seat conversation was precious.  I appreciate the simplicity, the confidence and the clarity of Phoenie’s explanation as well as Kelvin’s candor.

KELVIN: So, how many people are at this camp?

PHOENIE: Not too many – it’s a small church.  

KELVIN:  Church? This camp is at a church?  

PHOENIE:  Well, yah…it’s a Christian camp. 

SILENCE IS THE BACK SEAT – KELVIN IS THINKING.

KELVIN: So, we’re going to talk about God and stuff?

PHOENIE: Yah, but just in the morning when we walk in the door. You can do it, Kelvin. I’ll be with you. 

KELVIN:  Oh, OK.

END OF CONVERSATION.

THREE HOURS LATER, THE FOLLOWING CONVERSATION TOOK PLACE AS THE THREE OF US DROVE HOME.

DIANE:  So, how was it, Kelvin?

KELVIN: It was pretty good. I can’t get one song out of my head. Something about a deep well. I liked reaching for the candy too. 

PHOENIE:  Yah, I got a lot of candy so I saved some for Kelvin. 

DIANE:  What about the God stuff? Was that OK?

Kelvin: Actually, I really enjoyed it. I’m coming back tomorrow. It’s Wacky Day. We have to dress up. 

PHOENIE: I’m glad I brought you, Kelvin. You’re my friend and I got one extra sea dollar for bringing you to camp.  

I just love the honesty in the back seat.

But Jesus said,”Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to those who are like these children.  Matthew 19:14 NLT

 High Seas


Responses

  1. Oh Diane. How precious! Yes indeed , sometimes children do lead us…

  2. I love it! Who would want to miss “Wacky Day”?!?!? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

