Posted by: Diane | August 6, 2013

Run To The One

This morning, I was reading a magazine article about the royal baby who has recently been born to Britain’s Prince William and Kate, Duchess of Cambridge.  Apparently, newborn Prince George is now third in line to the throne.

I’m not an avid royal follower and this article wasn’t actually that well written but something did indeed stick in my mind, long after I finished reading about the big event.

The article stated that “most likely, this prince will not officially reign until the year, 2060.” That’s it – that was the sentence that stopped me in my tracks. Immediately, I started thinking about the year 2060 and the lightbulb moment came when I realized, “I won’t be around to see that happen.”


Now, I’ve read lots of articles about what the future will bring but for some reason, this particular statement really hit hard. I made a quick calculation and realized that I would be 113 years old in 2060 and chances are, I’ll be in heaven.  Wait a minute, that didn’t come out right – I KNOW I’m heading to heaven…it’s whether I’ll be there yet that’s up for grabs. I’m thinking that most likely, 47 years from now, I won’t be living on this earth.

These are the “catch your breath” moments that remind me to live with the end in mind.

Believing that there is spiritual life after my physical death, I don’t want to waste my life on stuff that doesn’t matter. I don’t want to waste any day that God has given me but honestly, there are days that just beat me to a pulp – last week was a good example of this. I felt pretty defeated for a few days and only within the past couple of days, have I been able to surface and fully function.  It’s not hopelessness. It’s a deep fatigue that tells me that this earth is not my home – that this isn’t all there is – that my feelings aren’t always a good compass to direct me…

…but the Word of God revives me with Truth and stability and hope and perspective…

…and one day, probably before 2060 – before Prince George reigns England and the Commonwealth nations – I will be with the One who reigns over all.  Until then, I know that that there will be days that feel overwhelming as I walk this earth. I also know where to run when I need Truth.

Tommy Walker says, “Strong Christians are not strong people – they’re just people who know where to run.” 

I’m so very thankful that there is One to whom I can run.

Lord I Run To You

Lord I run to You
No one else will do
Lord in troubled times I will run straight to You
Though my heart and flesh may fail
You’re my very present help
My tower of strength
My portion evermore

Lord I run to You
No one else will do
Lord You said we’d face trouble pain and fears
But to be of good cheer be of good cheer
For You have overcome overcome the world

I lift my eyes up to the mountains
Where does my help come from
It comes from You Lord
You are the Maker of earth and Heaven
And there is nothing that’s too hard for You

Tommy Walker
© 2004 Integrity’s Praise! Music/BMI

But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.  Philippians 3.20,21

 


Responses

  1. I had exactly the same reaction to that Prince George revelation


Leave a Reply

Categories

