Posted by: Diane | August 2, 2013

Time For A Mini-Retreat

It’s been a tough week and today didn’t start much better. When I headed to the back room to get some waffles from the freezer for Phoenie’s breakfast, I was greeted with an open freezer door and a floor covered with melted popsicles, ice cream and thawed meat. It wasn’t a good moment but Phoenie and I had a long talk about forgiveness and I have to say that it was worth the 1.5 hours of cleanup, just to have that precious time with him.  As I walked out out of the back room, I  slipped on some laundry and wrenched my knee. I also had to unplug the downstairs toilet and when I finally got outside to get on my bike and escape for a while, a pile of boxes landed on me when I opened the shed door.

All that in the first two hours of my day.

This is the “stuff” of life, isn’t it?  This week has been particularly emotionally exhausting and to be honest, it’s been difficult to pray and even more difficult to maintain a good mindset through it all…

…but God used a woman who I barely know to speak into my heart this week.  Margaret (not her real name)  had read my blog earlier this week and felt compelled to email me.

They return at evening, snarling like dogs, and prowl about the city.                           Psalm 59. 6,14

Diane, This is what the author wrote concerning this verse.

David was thinking of Saul’s army that was closing in on him when he wrote this psalm.  I think, however, of the thoughts that return to menace us. They come back at nightfall, snapping and snarling: “You’re stupid. “You’re a failure.” “Why bother?”  

When we have such thoughts, we can revel in God’s unconditional, unending love. His steady devotion is our refuge in the dark night of self-doubt and fear.

But I will sing of your strength, in the morning, I will sing of your love; for you are my refuge in times of trouble.  Psalm 59. 16

(words of David Roper)

This is where the rubber meets the road, isn’t it? Contrary to all I “feel”, the Bible is truth and I choose to run to Jesus. He can handle all the emotion, frustration and exhaustion that this week has brought.

Tonight, I’m going to bed.

Tomorrow, I’m going to take a mini-retreat and just spend some good time with Jesus…maybe I’ll sit on the swing by the water, maybe I’ll go for a long walk, maybe I’ll just sit on my bed and read the Word of God.

Maybe, I’ll do all three.  Yah…all three sound good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

