Posted by: Diane | July 8, 2013

Pet Perchy

I would like to introduce you to my grandson, Phoenix Slobodian, who will be my guest storyteller every Monday morning for the summer.

I’m excited to be the guest blogger on Nana’s blog because I don’t usually blog.

I thought it would be good for you to get to know Phoenix so here’s his interview.

___________

HOW OLD ARE YOU?

eight years old. 

WHAT GRADE ARE YOU GOING INTO?

 Grade 4. 

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOURSELF?

gentle

(After the interview, I was working on the blog and Phoenie asked me what I was doing.  I told him that I was blogging about the interview and he said, “Oh Nana, when you asked me to describe myself, I said, “gentle” but I forgot to tell you that I’m also funny.)

WHAT’S YOUR FAVOURITE FOOD?

hotdogs and bacon. I LOVE bacon!

WHAT’s YOUR LEAST FAVOURITE FOOD?

Chili. 

WHAT’S YOUR FAVOURITE THING TO DO?

I love to play checkers and I beat Papak.  Papak said that I slaughtered him. I had five kings and Papak ran out of moves. 

WHAT MAKES YOU LAUGH THE MOST?

My friends really make me laugh. 

WHAT’S YOUR FAVOURITE COLOR?

green. You know that, Nana. 

WHAT’S YOUR FAVOURITE CANDY?

sour Smogballs, created by Toxic Waste. 

WHO DO YOU LOVE MORE – PAPAK OR NANA?

(immediate answer): the same

WHAT’S YOUR FAVOURITE THING TO DO IN THE WATER?

jump the waves

WHAT’S THE MOST RECENT LIFE LESSON THAT YOU’VE LEARNED?

Sometimes you have to say “yes” and do the fun things that your friends want to do, even though you don’t feel like it. 

______________________________________

Pet Perchy – by Phoenix Slobodian

Hunter, Kelvin and I wanted to go fishing on Saturday.

I grabbed my fishing rod and the three of us caught some minnows for bait. We used a minnow net that Nana bought at smallMart.

Phoenie Blog 1 Kelvin, Phoenie and minnow

We tried to catch some perch off Jim and Dot’s dock.

Phoenie Blog 1 3 boys on dock fishing

We reeled in the rod and a perch was on the end of the line!  We named him Pet Perchy. There were a lot of perch under Jim and Dot’s dock.

Yesterday, we caught a rock bass. The bigger fish are under Jim and Dot’s dock. The minnows are under our dock.

There are hundreds of shad fly shells in the water.

(Interrruption)

 Phoenix: Do shad flies fly, Papak? I’ve never seen them fly.”

Papak: They have triangular like wings and a long tail and they like to land on vertical surfaces.

Phoenix: Remember yesterday, when we had to swim through all the dead shadfly shells in the water? 

(back to the story)

Kelvin was knocking out the minnows by punching their heads, but not hard though and then Kelvin held the perch and the perch opened his mouth and Kelvin fed the minnows to the perch.  We gave the perch three minnows and we had to pull out the fourth minnow because it was sticking out of the perch’s mouth.

Phoenie Blog 1 minnow in perch mouth

(interruption)

Phoenix: I never knew that perch ate dead minnows.  

Papak – They won’t eat them when they’re rotten but when they’re fresh, they will.

(back to the story)

We ate hot dogs on hamburger buns.

Phoenie Blog 1 Kelvin and Phoenie eating

I had fun fishing with Hunter and Kelvin.  We fished all day. Maybe an hour.  Maybe over an hour. We also swam a lot and splashed a lot.  We all played Frisbee with Papak and Uncle Drew. Mom was sitting on the wooden swing, texting.   

This is me, looking like a perch.

Phoenie Blog 1 perch mouth

(interruption)

Diane: That’s a really weird face, Phoenie. 

Phoenix: Perch don’t have teeth. 

Papak: Yes, they do….they have tiny teeth. 

Phoenix: (mumbling under his breath) Maybe that’s why those minnows didn’t come out alive from the perch’s mouth. 

The weather was great. It was so hot and the water was really smooth.

Kelvin got a big sunburn on his back. I didn’t get a sunburn and neither did Hunter, even though he wasn’t wearing sunscreen.

It was a great day.


Responses

  1. Thanks, Phoenix! Keep blogging! Mrs. Linda Neff


Leave a Reply

Categories

