Posted by: Diane | July 5, 2013

My Precious Faith

I’ve been thinking about the scriptures that our pastor talked about last Sunday at church.  He was speaking from 2 Peter 1.1-11 and as usual, one thing particularly stood out to me. I’ve carried this one thought with me all week.

Peter was one of Jesus’ closest friends and disciples. He knew that Jesus was the Christ and he walked on water with Jesus.  He was even with Jesus on the mountain of transfiguration. He was passionately devoted to Jesus.

Peter was the author of 2 Peter and he wrote to,”those who through the righteousness of our God and Savior Jesus Christ have received a faith as precious as ours:

Those words made me think –  I have received a faith as precious as Peter’s faith. I am “on the same level as the author.” *

Yet, Peter calls himself a servant and apostle.  As a servant, Peter stresses his submission to God and as an apostle, he stresses his spiritual commission to represent God as His ambassador to the world, delivering his message exactly as God empowered Him.  According to verse 1, I have the same faith that empowered Peter in his calling as servant and apostle.

Or do I?

Do I see my faith as precious?

Do I live my life in a way that shows others that my faith is precious to me?

Life is relentless in its daily dosage of aches and pains – do I believe in a God who is above every circumstance or trail that I encounter? Does my faith make a difference in my days?

My eight year old grandson has just come into the room and snuggled in beside me.  He asked me what I was blogging about tonight. We talked about Peter and I told him that I was blogging about faith. I asked him what “precious” meant to him. Without hesitation, he came up with a great example.

“Lola is my dog and she’s precious to me. That means she’s special. I treat her with kindness and respect. I show her that I love her every day. I pay attention to her. You have to pay attention to your faith.”

I couldn’t have said it any better.

Thanks, Phoenie.

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God – not by works, so that no one can boast. For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. Ephesians 2.8,9

* Perkins, Pheme. First and Second Peter, James and Jude. Louisville, KY: Knox, 1995; p. 167


Responses

  1. What we treat as precious, we spend time with and care and cherish…. Thanks for the reminder not to take my faith for granted, it is a special gift from our Lord.

  2. Phoenix has such a good way of expressing himself.
    “Out of the mouths of babes”.

  3. As usual , well said, Diane and Phoenie! and good questions for self examination. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

